We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain So Close to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Bargain So Close to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After staying at the Midtown Hilton for a business trip, I was so happy to transfer to Hotel Verve for a few extra days of vacation. The differences are immediately noticeable—especially in the slower pace and friendlier people. We instantly felt more at home.

There are lots of perks that come with this hotel, which is surprising considering how affordably priced it is. Rooms are spacious and conveniently come with a coffee maker and mini fridge. Complimentary hot beverages (coffee, espresso, latte, tea, cocoa) are available 24/7. So is internet access. Continental breakfast is included, but it's not limited to flour-based items—it includes a few protein items such as cheese cubes, one egg option, and one meat option. There's also a deck if you want to eat your breakfast outside, a fitness center (which I shamefully never used), and a play room (which came in handy for my son while we waited for check-in). I *loved* all these extras.

This hotel is an excellent option if you're looking for affordable ... but not if you're looking to be in the heart of it all. Verve is in what appears to be a neighborhood in transition (there are modern hotels next to manufacturing businesses and brownstone homes). There aren't shops and cafes right around the corner, but if you're willing to walk several blocks, you can find restaurants of the local variety. Of you can walk 3 blocks to the N & R subway line ... 2 stops later, you'll be in Midtown Manhattan (59th Street).

We really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again on our next trip to New York!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowpunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, Its sooooo good! I knew when we were booking New York for the second time that this would be the hotel we would definitely be staying in! We stayed in a king room which had lots of space, the bed was really comfy and the room and bathroom really clean. The hotel is only a two minute walk to the subway station. Roughly takes 10 minutes to get to times square. Breakfast was good, bagels, waffles, cereal, eggs etc. And the staff were all really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about visiting New York. Its amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We travel to NYC frequently, and have tried several hotels in Queens in order to avoid Manhattan hotel sticker shock. This was the best yet. We were upgraded to a one bedroom queen suite, which was modern and clean. The TV in the living rm didn't work- so we watched in the bedroom. If we were staying longer than one night I would have addressed this, but I didn't bother. The staff was really friendly, and the parking was reasonable but a little awkward to get into- don't bring your SUV! For the price paid, this hotel is an incredible value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uuperiwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we stayed in a king room, I loved that this hotel was a subway ride into times square. times square is very busy you cant walk without running into people its packed ! it was nice to goo and see everything that new York had to offer and then stay at this hotel. it was quite and had really amazing staff! they were all very helpful. we stayed for a week while we were on our honeymoon . I would love to go back and stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here from 6/16 to 6/23/2013. Loved this hotel. We had a two room suite on the 6th floor, tons of room. Washer and dryer usage was free (just bring your own soap or they sell you some for $1), breakfast was included, pool table, ping pong, fitness room, this place was great. Breakfast was OK, my husband preferred bacon and eggs so we ate out, if you like turkey sausage or making your own waffle then it's good. I enjoyed having access to hot tea 24 hours a day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is great, five minute walk to the subway, 10 minutes on the train and you are in Manhattan. We bought a 7 day metro pass for $31 and used it every day, went all over New York City. We found a great spaghetti dinner for $7 at a local diner - under the subway train tracks - definitely not fancy but good food - Joe's Pizzeria on 36th Avenue. Good breakfast at the diner by the 39th Avenue train station. Next time we come to New York we want to stay at the Verve again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spotrockyzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very friendly & helpful. Room ws clean with all amenities. As our stay was over a Saturday night, had no trouble finding on-street parking extremely close by. However, the best feature was the proximity to the subway - very short and safe walk and one stop to Manhattan. Breakfast was good, but the coffee could have been better. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luv_2_travel_2012_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I always look forward to my stay at the Verve. Although most times I am on business, the staff never hesitates to make me feel at home. The amenities from free breakfast, to fast internet and spacious rooms makes this a great place to stay when you are in NYC. I can't say enough great things about the Verve!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#10 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing