We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great staff, great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay, great staff, great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here from 6/16 to 6/23/2013. Loved this hotel. We had a two room suite on the 6th floor, tons of room. Washer and dryer usage was free (just bring your own soap or they sell you some for $1), breakfast was included, pool table, ping pong, fitness room, this place was great. Breakfast was OK, my husband preferred bacon and eggs so we ate out, if you like turkey sausage or making your own waffle then it's good. I enjoyed having access to hot tea 24 hours a day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is great, five minute walk to the subway, 10 minutes on the train and you are in Manhattan. We bought a 7 day metro pass for $31 and used it every day, went all over New York City. We found a great spaghetti dinner for $7 at a local diner - under the subway train tracks - definitely not fancy but good food - Joe's Pizzeria on 36th Avenue. Good breakfast at the diner by the 39th Avenue train station. Next time we come to New York we want to stay at the Verve again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    322
    69
    7
    24
See reviews for
237
493
93
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very friendly & helpful. Room ws clean with all amenities. As our stay was over a Saturday night, had no trouble finding on-street parking extremely close by. However, the best feature was the proximity to the subway - very short and safe walk and one stop to Manhattan. Breakfast was good, but the coffee could have been better. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I always look forward to my stay at the Verve. Although most times I am on business, the staff never hesitates to make me feel at home. The amenities from free breakfast, to fast internet and spacious rooms makes this a great place to stay when you are in NYC. I can't say enough great things about the Verve!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just spent 7 nights at this little gem of a hotel in Long island city. from the minute we got there we were treated like friends, nothing was too much trouble and the facilities were great. Not much to do in the neighbourhood although I recommend a walk to the Dutch Kills cocktail bar but very easy access at all times from either the 39th street station or Queens Plaza both of which are only an easy safe 5 minute walk from the hotel. Very spacious rooms by New York standards, good amenities such as a decked patio which we ate breakfast on each morning and a more than adequate breakfast. If you are planning a trip to New York I would highly recommend this economical hotel......hope you enjoyed the donuts guys !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very well managed botique 3.5 star hotel.

Nice location close to manhattan and subway. Don't expect a great surrounding area or too much action in terms of people, shops or cafe's close by at night. We felt safe though coming back late at night

Very good size clean rooms, we were in king size room overlooking the city. Nice breakfast and really enjoyed the free coffee and tea during the day, specially late at night, we used to take a cup of coffee and sit in a small outdoor deck the hotel has.

The staff is very helpful and we could store luggage for a nominal fee on the day of check out. In fact the hotel also offered a weighing machine so not to avoid any hassles at the airport with check in luggage, we found it very useful

Would stay here again and recommend it as well to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We received a warm welcome at the verve after a long drive from Washington. Parking was no problem but we did have to pay, still the hotel is great value. The room was a good size and had a view out to the Manhattan skyline. The bathroom was well fitted out and had brand name soaps etc. An in-room safe and bathrobes are provided. The hotel is very close to three subway stops and while the neighbourhood is nothing to write home about we felt safe walking from the hotel to the subway or to the stores on 36th ave. Because its so close to the subway and you will have to use it anyway to get around NY it turns out to be a very handy place to stay. Breakfast was standard motel fare. The Verve also provides complimentary laundry facilities - a real plus for travellers like us who have been on the road for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Awesome!
It was a very clean and nice hotel. It had a great service with friendly and helpful front desk manager.
It is in a great location and very close to subway station. It was 5 minutes walk to subway station. It took about 20 minutes to get to Manhattan by subway.
The rooms were very clean.
The rooms had wireless internet which was very good.
I really enjoyed my 5 nights stay in this hotel.
It was located in a quiet street which was very good.
I recommend it to anyone.
I think the price was also good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.