We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Generous offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Generous offer: large room,clean,modern,with all is needed for a traveler to feel good:tea/coffe maker,fridge,iron,free wifi.The breakfast same every day but enough for starting the day.The staff from reception special: friendly,helpful (except the brunette lady).It's about 20 min far away from Tames Square with metro line; there are 3 metro stations near the hotel.I felt spoiled,Thank You Verve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    329
    73
    7
    26
See reviews for
241
503
98
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NASHVILLE, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Recently stayed for three nights celebrating the wife's 35th birthday. We chose this hotel because it was affordable ($200/night including tax)... and it was only a 10 to 15 minute Subway ride into "the city"... We booked a double bed 2 room suite. Upon arriving, the desk personnel told us we had been upgraded to a King 2 room suite... Awesome! The room was BIG... really BIG considering how close to Manhattan we were... Also beautiful... we were in room 309... Just outside the elevators... but we heard nothing... nothing from the elevators and nothing from outside... It is conveniently located just a 5 minute walk to no less than 3 different subway stops... We chose to use the Subway for all of our travel within the city and it was so easy...

Regarding the safety of the location... We ALWAYS felt safe... coming and going... We arrived back at our hotel between 1:30am and 2:00am each of the three nights via the Subway... and never felt the least bit worried or threatened at all walking to the hotel...

Regarding things in the general vicinity... we did visit a couple bars within a subway stop or a short walk... The coolest being Studio Square (actually a beer garden)... They have a happy hour that is just phenomenal.... Also visited the Mad Donkey... and took advantage of their full grill offerings at 1am... definitely made the next day easier... I hesitated at posting this review because it would just make more people aware of this awesome hotel and drive up the cost... but I felt they deserve it for being such a classy establishment...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this nice hotel for two nights for a fun weekend in the City. Easy, easy, easy to get to the subway and into Manhattan! The hotel staff would even walk outside with us and point out the directions to the subway for us - only blocks from the hotel. Easily walkable. Felt very safe (was traveling with a 15 year old).

Hotel arranged for private transportation from & back to the airport for only $25 each way. Well worth it for us. Very courteous & helpful staff at the hotel. Check in was hassle free. Booked online and got a great rate thru Choices Hotels web site. Our room was clean, fairly large, comfortable bed, quiet, and had a bit of a view of Manhattan. Held our bags for us on our last day till it was time to go to the airport at no charge. Nice touch.

Breakfast was not our cup of tea - two hot entrees each day - both days, they offered turkey sausage. In addition, the first day they offered egg whites (which were yellow) and the second day, hard boiled eggs floating in hot water. They also provided your usual waffles, fruit, cereals, etc.

I would recommend this hotel as an option if you're looking for a clean & safe place to stay at much better rates than if you stayed in Manhattan. Very willing to help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Rooms: large not only by New York standards, but also by just about any hotel standard. Attractively furnished; windows that open. Relatively quiet--some street and/or elevated train noise, but nothing too bothersome (especially if you turn on the room fan). Plenty of pillows and toiletries. Comfortable bed. We had a refrigerator, jacuzzi tub, and robes provided; some rooms have a bit fewer amenities and some a bit more. There were a few cleanliness glitches but nothing major; overall, I was very impressed with our room.

Food: Hot and cold buffet breakfast perfectly fine, nothing unusual: eggs, sausage, waffles, and then all the usual breads, one kind of fruit, cereals; also cheese the day we were there. Will definitely start your day well. Staff very attentive. But: don't go right before they close as some hot food may have run out and what is there will be removed promptly at 9:30 am. This seems early to me, especially on a weekend and when combined with a strong sense that it's time for you to leave the breakfast room at 9:35. There is a 24-hour coffee machine, however, that serves hot chocolate, latte, cappuccino, as well, which is a nice touch.

Parking: $25 per night to park in a clean, well-lit, secured space under the hotel; you can take the stairs or the elevator directly into the hotel. Might not be suitable for a very large vehicle but we managed with a Highlander. Parking is entered on the 40th Ave. side of hotel; our hotel directions from the LIE brought us in on the 29th St. side, however, and with one-way streets you have to circle around some to park. It looked as if there might be some street parking, too, which would probably be fine as long as you didn't have to leave anything in your car. (Speaking of streets, the directions from the LIE involve some tricky turns! Not the hotel's fault, but we were glad we had a spare adult to help navigate. GPS might help a lot.)

Other: fitness room on parking level, perfectly adequate. Make sure every member of your party carries ID as they ask for it at checkin. Staff friendly and helpful. Wifi service excellent.

I would have been happy to stay longer, and it seems as if it would be a great base for a NYC visit, especially if you were taking the subway. A great choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked the Verve for our 25th anniversary. From the moment we walked up to reception the friendly and knowledgable staff went beyond the call to make our New York trip unforgettable.
5 minute walk to the subway , 3 stops from Manhattan. Clean, secure, nice beakfast but most of
all wonderfull staff. Thanks Valerie, Jeremie and Yahaira for everything. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start..... This place is great on all levels. The staff are wonderful and have the best attitude and the room was just perfect in every way. The whole place omits a great vibe, generated by those that work within its 4 walls. Quite simply I love it, and here is why;
Parking - safe and secure underground parking
Room - we had a king suite room, it had a separate lounge and bedroom with a bathroom just off the lounge. Great space, well designed and very contemporary and well furnished. Great pillows (that makes a huge difference) and a great sized bed. We even had comp bath robes, great touch. And the coffee machine was the best I've used in a hotel room....ever. We also had a view of the Chrysler Building, which is nice at night.
Breakfast - great choice of hot and fresh breakfast. Self service but always well stocked. Free coffee and hot chocolate 24/7 is a bonus.
The Staff - WOW...WOW...WOW... You really can't ask any more of them. Their attitude is amazing and they are very geared and well prepared for the first time New York tourist. Good advice and always willing to help. It wasn't just one of them either, it was every single person in that place. Thank you to all of you, even you the night porter. Tom, the manager/owner (I'm not sure which), has obviously hand picked his staff well and his leadership is reflected in his team.
Location - only 2 blocks away from 2 subway stations and in a safe neighbourhood at any hour of the day or night. You are also just 6 minutes from 5th Avenue or 12 minutes from Times Square. As a novice New York tourist I bought a metro card and downloaded the mta app to my phone, it couldn't be easier.
Overall then, it was just the most pleased experience, and when I return to NYC, which I certainly will, then I will be booking back into room 408, and staying here agin.
Massive THANK YOU to all the staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just completed another great stay at the Verve Hotel. It was the second visit for my husband and me, the third for me, as I also have chosen Verve for a business trip. It is that special a place to stay.

The facilities are first rate—clean, spacious rooms; comfortable beds; free wi-fi; on site indoor parking (for a competitive fee). There is a free hot breakfast, better than most such offerings. The staff is pleasant and helpful. They know the neighborhood and can recommend restaurants, fast food and take-out places. The rates are very reasonable, about half that of some Manhattan hotels we looked at. The hotel is located within a few blocks of the 39th St (N,Q) and Queen’s Plaza (E,M,R) train stops, so that you are in effect 10-15 minutes from Midtown Manhattan.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.