We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, TripAdvisor, for leading us to this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Thanks, TripAdvisor, for leading us to this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Rooms: large not only by New York standards, but also by just about any hotel standard. Attractively furnished; windows that open. Relatively quiet--some street and/or elevated train noise, but nothing too bothersome (especially if you turn on the room fan). Plenty of pillows and toiletries. Comfortable bed. We had a refrigerator, jacuzzi tub, and robes provided; some rooms have a bit fewer amenities and some a bit more. There were a few cleanliness glitches but nothing major; overall, I was very impressed with our room.

Food: Hot and cold buffet breakfast perfectly fine, nothing unusual: eggs, sausage, waffles, and then all the usual breads, one kind of fruit, cereals; also cheese the day we were there. Will definitely start your day well. Staff very attentive. But: don't go right before they close as some hot food may have run out and what is there will be removed promptly at 9:30 am. This seems early to me, especially on a weekend and when combined with a strong sense that it's time for you to leave the breakfast room at 9:35. There is a 24-hour coffee machine, however, that serves hot chocolate, latte, cappuccino, as well, which is a nice touch.

Parking: $25 per night to park in a clean, well-lit, secured space under the hotel; you can take the stairs or the elevator directly into the hotel. Might not be suitable for a very large vehicle but we managed with a Highlander. Parking is entered on the 40th Ave. side of hotel; our hotel directions from the LIE brought us in on the 29th St. side, however, and with one-way streets you have to circle around some to park. It looked as if there might be some street parking, too, which would probably be fine as long as you didn't have to leave anything in your car. (Speaking of streets, the directions from the LIE involve some tricky turns! Not the hotel's fault, but we were glad we had a spare adult to help navigate. GPS might help a lot.)

Other: fitness room on parking level, perfectly adequate. Make sure every member of your party carries ID as they ask for it at checkin. Staff friendly and helpful. Wifi service excellent.

I would have been happy to stay longer, and it seems as if it would be a great base for a NYC visit, especially if you were taking the subway. A great choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    311
    61
    7
    20
See reviews for
232
482
88
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked the Verve for our 25th anniversary. From the moment we walked up to reception the friendly and knowledgable staff went beyond the call to make our New York trip unforgettable.
5 minute walk to the subway , 3 stops from Manhattan. Clean, secure, nice beakfast but most of
all wonderfull staff. Thanks Valerie, Jeremie and Yahaira for everything. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start..... This place is great on all levels. The staff are wonderful and have the best attitude and the room was just perfect in every way. The whole place omits a great vibe, generated by those that work within its 4 walls. Quite simply I love it, and here is why;
Parking - safe and secure underground parking
Room - we had a king suite room, it had a separate lounge and bedroom with a bathroom just off the lounge. Great space, well designed and very contemporary and well furnished. Great pillows (that makes a huge difference) and a great sized bed. We even had comp bath robes, great touch. And the coffee machine was the best I've used in a hotel room....ever. We also had a view of the Chrysler Building, which is nice at night.
Breakfast - great choice of hot and fresh breakfast. Self service but always well stocked. Free coffee and hot chocolate 24/7 is a bonus.
The Staff - WOW...WOW...WOW... You really can't ask any more of them. Their attitude is amazing and they are very geared and well prepared for the first time New York tourist. Good advice and always willing to help. It wasn't just one of them either, it was every single person in that place. Thank you to all of you, even you the night porter. Tom, the manager/owner (I'm not sure which), has obviously hand picked his staff well and his leadership is reflected in his team.
Location - only 2 blocks away from 2 subway stations and in a safe neighbourhood at any hour of the day or night. You are also just 6 minutes from 5th Avenue or 12 minutes from Times Square. As a novice New York tourist I bought a metro card and downloaded the mta app to my phone, it couldn't be easier.
Overall then, it was just the most pleased experience, and when I return to NYC, which I certainly will, then I will be booking back into room 408, and staying here agin.
Massive THANK YOU to all the staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just completed another great stay at the Verve Hotel. It was the second visit for my husband and me, the third for me, as I also have chosen Verve for a business trip. It is that special a place to stay.

The facilities are first rate—clean, spacious rooms; comfortable beds; free wi-fi; on site indoor parking (for a competitive fee). There is a free hot breakfast, better than most such offerings. The staff is pleasant and helpful. They know the neighborhood and can recommend restaurants, fast food and take-out places. The rates are very reasonable, about half that of some Manhattan hotels we looked at. The hotel is located within a few blocks of the 39th St (N,Q) and Queen’s Plaza (E,M,R) train stops, so that you are in effect 10-15 minutes from Midtown Manhattan.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psdsoft
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner an I selected the verve for the first nine days of our three week holiday in NYC on the basis of the idea it would be a good place to recover from jet lag after travel from Australia, then we had booked another 9 days in an upscale hotel in Manhattan followed by a few days in Niagra Falls.

Turned out we enjoyed the Verve, the quality of the people, the breakfast, the WIFI, the 24 hour free espresso machine and the superb location which allowed us to spend as much time in Manhattan as we wanted and take the subway one stop from Manhattan and be in this relatively quiet part of Queens away from the noise and pressure.

At the end of our 9 days, we cancelled our upscale hotel in Manhattan and Niagra Falls and booked the rest of our time at the Verve!! It is simply a great base to explore NYC. Don't forget that Manhattan is so big that to see anything other than exactly where your hotel is you need to catch the subway ANYWAY! $30 buys you a week of unlimited subway travel and the quality, safety and cleanliness of the subway service is excellent.

We loved walking around the area and exploring some of the small bars and restaurants of the area. If you decide to stay, make sure you spend time in Queens, it is eclectic and nice. The museum of the moving picture is a must in Astoria and the Locale restaurant just down the road from the museum is great.

Other highlights of the Queens location are the Five Napkins Burger Restaurant (catch the happy hours) and watch out for the local brew which kicks like a mule! Another great local bar is the Rest-au-Rant (rarballic.com) where the homemade guacamole with home made corn chips are a highlight.

The Verve was a great base to explore an amazing city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Verve for 3 nights and we weren't disappointed. The price is a fraction of the cost of a hotel in Manhattan and you can travel into Times Square in about 15 mins on the Subway. Both 39 Ave and Queensboro Plaza are 5 mins away.
We were pleased with the room. It was basis but comfortable and had all the things we needed including a comfy bed. At first we thought we may have issues sleeping with the subway so close you can hear the trains, but we were so exhausted from our day trips that we never had any sleep issues.
The bonus at the Verve is definately the breakfast and free 24 tea and coffee. Most places are room only however the Verve served an adequate breakfast. The variety was limited, but we were very happy with the choice of cereal, toast, bagels and waffles. There was also a different kind of egg each day (boiled, scrambled) and turkey sausage, but we didn't try this.
The area is fine, we often returned back late and never felt worried. They also have a gym, games room and free laundry room.
We would definitely stay at the Verve again when returning to New York because of the value for money, proximity to NYC and good serviced provided by the staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is situated just over a bridge from Manhattan in Long Island City. The staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful and all of the facilities were spotlessly clean. There was a nice complimentary breakfast included in the price and complimentary hot and cold drinks were available throughout our stay. The Verve is only a couple of minutes walk away from two Metro stations where you can get a subway into Manhattan which is only one stop away. The cost of our stay here compares extremely favourably with the cost of hotels in Manhattan which could have been over twice as much. I would definitely stay at The Verve again if I ever return to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.