We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great value for money close too subway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great value for money close too subway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from a fab stay at the verve, we stayed 20th April until the 24th April. We got the train from JFK down to long island city this was actually very easy and only took around 45 minutes, the journey was quite straight forward you will have to pay for a metro card when you get off the air train which cost $5 each, if you want a metro card for you whole stay they are $30 each they will get you everywhere. We was a little worried to what the hotel was going to be like OR how close it was from the subway.......we had nothing to worry about at all the verve is one block from the subway....(tip for people tho set a landmark for when you come out of the subway as there are so many different exits, you never come out at the same one twice!!! We used the clock as our's) The hotel is very clean, clean towels each day and bed all made......The staff are very very helpful no question is too much for them, they will tell you what trains too use to get to different places which was very helpful. The breakfast was lovely choice of cereal, toast, Omelette OR scrambled eggs turkey bacon, bagels and waffles (which where amazing) choice of apple juice and orange juice and hot drinks. The only thing I was disappointed with was we did not have a view of New York :-( But this made no difference to our stay at all.................I would highly recommend staying here and I would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    301
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
229
470
85
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there right after arriving late in La guardia. The hotel is a short drive from airport, about $20 for taxi ride. Staff very helpful and explained the subway. They do have room service, but they referred a delivery service that was reasonable, and we got a gyros platter that was tasty. Rooms are good size and contemporary decorated. Breakfast is included, trying to please dietary restriction they serve turkey bacon and egg white omelet, which was not tasty, but they have toasts, and make your own waffles. Overall a good value hotel, and very close to Manhanttan, convenient 2 blocks away from subway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I travelled with my cousins on March this year. We never expected to have the service we had during our stay. All the staff is super gentle and helpful.

The location is not so great in terms that the surroundings are not the nicest. However, it is very easy to get into Manhattan because the subway is near.

The cleaning is good and even the breakfast is more than acceptable considering the options given in other US hotels.

I told them I will write a good review because it is fair to point out also whenever we receive an outstandign service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Verve is just across the river from Ny, Ny! It is a very short subway ride (by the way the subway is VERY safe to ride and cheap...get yourself a "metro pass" and make it even easier! The rooms are great, but be forewarned that there are no bathtubs...to soak I after hoofing it all over NY...and the one (1) elevator is kind of slow. Other then that, if you drive to NY, there is a great place to store your vehicle just around the corner!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very un-New York hotel--in other words it is a great place at a great price and two blocks from the subway. Spacious room, very clean, comfortable bed, I have been traveling to NYC on business for years--this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although not luxurious, this is an extremely efficient, clean and pleasant hotel, providing excellent service to customers. The staff are super nice and friendly. Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, and 24hr complimentary coffee, water and tea, which will save you a lot on small expenses. Area is safe and well serviced by bus and subway, all at easy walking distance. If arriving on the E train, use the North Queen Plaza exits: this will save you a bit of walking and street crossing. The only downside is that there are no services (restaurant, bars, etc.) in the area, and you will always need transportation to go to better serviced neighborhoods.

Room Tip: Rooms on 29th street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was hands down the best service we've ever had at a hotel. They really go over and above to make you feel welcome. They want to help you in any way they can. The room was clean, nice, comfortable and the location was right near a subway and nowhere near as hard to get to as we worried it would be for being so close to Manhattan. Breakfast was good, the welcome water was a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.