We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, If you don't mind Plastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great, If you don't mind Plastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a good hotel to use outside of manhattan. The additional benefit of breakfast being included in the price is good, the down side of this, as the title suggests, is that every piece of cutlery and all plates and cups/beakers are plastic.
The staff are very attentive, all are very willing to help in whatever way they can. A real plus point is that there is a drinks machine serving Coffee, Hot Chocolate and hot water for Tea, available 24 hrs a day. Also there is a cold water machine, which is great for replenishing water bottles, which are a must for "Discovering" New York.
The hotel is just a 5 min walk from the nearest subway station, (39th Ave on the N and Q lines), and the best bargain in New York is the $30 - 7 day unlimited travel pass on the Metro, which also includes the buses. From the hotel you can be in central Manhattan or Central Park within 15 mins on the subway.

The hotel rooms are good, if a little noisy, given that this is a working neighbourhood, not a residential district. This could be said to be a minus point, as this neighbourhood leaves a little to be desired!

Room Tip: Don't have room 304, wardrobe/closet is very small. Can recommend rooms 310 and 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    301
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
229
470
85
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my wife went to NY as tourists for the first time and wanted something in Manhattan, but it was all too expesinve given it was peak summer.

We found Verve which is a bedbug-free place and located conveniently just outside the Manhattan and close to LaGuardia airport. The hotel staff is friendly and good. The breakfast was quite OK. The good part was it was quite close to a couple of subway stations and the area was quite safe to walk even late at night, at least in our experience. We barely stayed much at the hotel since we were tourists, but I guess if you are thinking of enjoying the hotel by staying in, isn't really that kinda place.

Room Tip: Try to get a Long Island City facing room, the other side (which we got) is not nice looking at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great time at this hotel.
It was clear upon entry to the hotel that the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and spotless!

Other than staying for three breakfasts (all nice, especially the veggie omelettes!) we didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were tourists wanting to explore New York. The subway is easily found out of the hotel (turn right out of the door, right at the end of the street, walk for a couple of minutes and you'll see the subway). Within moments, the first stop is straight into Manhattan and we didn't feel disadvantaged at all by our location (if you want to visit the 9/11 Memorial, for example, you were only a few extra minutes away by subway than those staying in a hotel near Central Park).

Area felt completely safe; we walked to and ate at Sunswick 35 one evening and there were a few other restaurants near there and on the way (research the locations before you go and take a map and you'll find plenty of places in under a 15 minutes walk, including near by pizza places in under 5).

The latest we walked around at night was 11ish because we went out so early every morning, but at this time of night felt safe and happy in the neighbourhood.

The value is EXCELLENT.
Can't wait to come back - in the summer next time :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I have never met staff who were so genuinely caring and considerate. The rooms were quite large and quiet, clean and comfortable. Free hot chocolate and coffee is available throughout the day. Located close to the subway. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel at a very nice price. Rooms are larger than expected for New York City. Just a couple of blocks from the subway with a convenience store on the way. Soon after arrival I overheard staff offering anything a couple anything they needed in the way of assistance with milk, bottles, etc for their toddler. I knew from that that our stay would be good. Breakfast room was at capacity only one time over a 6 night stay and when that happened, the manager was right there to make sure tables were cleaned ASAP. He even gave me quidence on how to make the organge juice flow more quickly. The latte machine was a special treat each evening after a long day of checking out colleges and being a tourist. Staff was helpful in figuring out alternatives to get us to the airport. Most definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second time at the Verve and still I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. VERY friendly staff with a nice sense of humor...always a smile and a "hello!".

Neighborhood is quiet and a bit "industrial" but it feels safe to walk around...even at night. There are several subway lines closeby and Manhattan is just 1 stop away.

Hotel has free:
- Wi-Fi
- Breakfast
- Laundry service
- Newspaper
- Coffee
- Parking

In the room there´s:

- Fridge
- Ironing board
- Bathtub
- Flatscreen TV
- Coffee maker

The hotel has also:

- Execise room
- Entertainment room

Book now...you won't be disappointed :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed there for 2 weeks! The personnel is so friendly and helpful, ready to answer all of your questions in order to help you! The owner of the hotel was such a good man!!!!! The first day that we went to the hotel, we payed the whole stay in cash( he had booked to king bedrooms ), that's why they upgraded the one room from king bedroom to jacuzzi bedroom!!! It was a lovely experience!! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable! The hotel is very close to subway, you have to walk about 5 minutes to get there and from Manhattan within 3 stops you are in the 5th Avenue, near the Central Park South! The breakfast was nice, but it didn't have a variety of food! I think they should make it a little larger, so that the guest don't get bored of the same food every day! You can also enjoy your complimentary drinks any time of the day, the gym, the playroom and the laundry!! We had a wonderful time there! I highly recommend this hotel!!! Next time I will go to New York, I would definitely stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.