We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were really pleased with everything about the hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we could see the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building from our room. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. A good breakfast selection was included in the price and the hotel was only a couple of minute's walk from Queens Plaza subway station to get into Manhattan and only cost $2.75 for a single journey. If you get a cab to or from Manhattan you get fabulous views of the city as you cross the Queensboro bridge.The hotel seems a little out of place in such an industrial neighbourhood, but we never felt uncomfortable, even at night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    683
    297
    59
    7
    17
See reviews for
225
467
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good value for a very reasonable price near Manhattan, compared to other alternatives around, with a very convenient access to the subway. The room was large and quiet with a comfortable king size bed (as requested), clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good (the dining room may become crowded when the hotel is full). The stuff is efficient and happy to help. I will be glad to return to this hotel when visiting Manhattan.

Room Tip: High floor facing Mannhatan is a good selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

spent a week with my family. very clean. staff extremely helpful. excellent hotel for reasonable price. near subway to manhattan. full breakfast at no extra charge great feature. game room with pool table and pingpong nice for families. played with my daughter and granddaughter. staff eager to give directions or make suggestions. let us have late check-out at no additional charge. only negative some noise at night due to closeness to overhead train, but same could be said for double the price if you stayed in the

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Four blocks from the eline from JFK airport. I stayed one night for a weekend in Manhattan. Neighborhood is industrial (except for four churches on the corners by the hotel). No close restaurants and few people on the street. coming back in the evening I chose to flag a cab rather than walk by myself. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in town and needed a good place to stay last minute. The rates were very reasonable for the room we received. The staff is AWESOME!!! We didn't know the city at all and they were able to answer every questions and point us in the direction of everything we needed. They recommended a bar very close in the area which had the exact atmosphere we were looking for, and also called us a very nice and cheap cab service. Yahaira and Justin were the ones that helped us out.. definitely ask for them if staying here as they went above and beyond for us. I would stay here again ina heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

On arrival our room was not what we have reserved. The staff were very uncooperative and very aggressive. They refused to change us back to our original reservation stating that the previous occupants of our room had decide to stay on and it was not there problem to resolve the issue. They said we either stayed with a smaller room or our money back. Not ideal when u have travelled from the uk.
We then had to view four rooms and choose the most satisfactory.
We then had to collect our own luggage from reception, without any help from the hotel staff

Despite this the room was clean and comfortable. location was good, 2 minutes from 39th st station.

Breakfast was edible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are from ISTANBUL and it's our first time in Queens -NYC.
If I come to NYC in the future, I'll deffinetely stay in Verve Hotel !
So friendly and similing people are working here. Such an understanding and helpful people ! Even they helped us to order something online and delivered till my room. The location is pretty good and just 3 min to subway ( 39th st ).. Safe and clean area. Whatever you need from the reception, they help you so friendly way.
Regarding breakfast, of course it could have been better but still good and clean..

P.S: You do not need to stay in busy Manhattan, trust me ! Stay in Hotel Verve and be safe !

Room Tip: Well, we stayed on the 5th floor and it was a nice room. Not noisy at all. I can easily see the subw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.