We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On arrival our room was not what we have reserved. The staff were very uncooperative and very aggressive. They refused to change us back to our original reservation stating that the previous occupants of our room had decide to stay on and it was not there problem to resolve the issue. They said we either stayed with a smaller room or our money back. Not ideal when u have travelled from the uk.
We then had to view four rooms and choose the most satisfactory.
We then had to collect our own luggage from reception, without any help from the hotel staff

Despite this the room was clean and comfortable. location was good, 2 minutes from 39th st station.

Breakfast was edible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    349
    83
    7
    28
See reviews for
258
531
103
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are from ISTANBUL and it's our first time in Queens -NYC.
If I come to NYC in the future, I'll deffinetely stay in Verve Hotel !
So friendly and similing people are working here. Such an understanding and helpful people ! Even they helped us to order something online and delivered till my room. The location is pretty good and just 3 min to subway ( 39th st ).. Safe and clean area. Whatever you need from the reception, they help you so friendly way.
Regarding breakfast, of course it could have been better but still good and clean..

P.S: You do not need to stay in busy Manhattan, trust me ! Stay in Hotel Verve and be safe !

Room Tip: Well, we stayed on the 5th floor and it was a nice room. Not noisy at all. I can easily see the subw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location, 5 minute walk to subway. Clean rooms and great staff. Helped with info on subways and they gave us a map of subways. If you use the subway remember what entrance you entered at. When we came back from the city there were four exits at the subway stop. We were a little confused.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In other cities, we shop around and end up at different hotels each trip … but this place has it all for a NYC trip … a great, clean, efficiently run hotel, with excellent value for money.

From our first stay, we knew the Verve would be our NYC hotel.

The Verve is about 5 minutes out of Manhattan on the subway, a taxi from midtown is only about $12 so being off the island of Manhattan no hardship at all. And Astoria and other Queens neighborhoods should not be missed to get the true flavors that really is NYC. Hop on the 7 train and on and off for one of the best international food tours this world has to offer!!

For a great, affordable, clean and spacious hotel the Verve is it. And breakfast is included ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i made a last min reservation here for valentine's day this year and everything was amazing the staff very helpful and friendly and the room was amazing for the value. Very romantic, we loved it and look forward to staying again. Didn't get to try the breakfast do to the fact that we slept in but amazing accommodations. Right around the corner from the train station

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at The Verve in Oct 2012 and had a fabulous time! 4th time in NYC but the 1st time outside Manhattan and just booked to return again this year. Far cheaper option but same standard of rooms with a free breakfast thrown in to set you up for the day. Staff are welcoming and very friendly; nothing is too much trouble. 10 min subway journey to Times Square from a subway only 5 min walk away. Would definitely recommend saving a few hundred dollars and stay in Long Island!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for 9 nights in new-york city, we found Verve hotel with just 3 minutes walk to subway station and 10 minutes to Manhattan.
the hotel place in a quiet area in long island city, there isn't and commercial or shopping area near it, in nights the neighborhood is very boring.
the breakfast is OK, it can be more colorful if they had a few more products or to change the ingredients in a few days.
the staff was helpful and friendly and there is a free WIFI internet indoor.
one day we didn't have hot water in our room so it was a freezing bath for us, we let the counter know that and they switch us rooms when we came back in the evening telling us there is a problem with the hot water in our floor.
the new room has this noisy sound that we couldn't get any sleep at night, we called the reception desk at 06:00 am and they send a guy that told us the noise is from the rain outside, I must say that we know how the rain sounds and we didn't heard that sound in our old room, they told us they can't switch us rooms because we have to wait till morning but we just wanted to get some sleep. at last they gave us another room not letting us leave our staff in the room so we had to move all our belongings in the morning and we were very tired and just wanted to get some sleep.
if that incident wouldn't happen I think this hotel is very good and has reasonable price but I think their conducting in that case wasn't that pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.