We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location, 5 minute walk to subway. Clean rooms and great staff. Helped with info on subways and they gave us a map of subways. If you use the subway remember what entrance you entered at. When we came back from the city there were four exits at the subway stop. We were a little confused.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    687
    303
    58
    7
    16
See reviews for
222
464
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In other cities, we shop around and end up at different hotels each trip … but this place has it all for a NYC trip … a great, clean, efficiently run hotel, with excellent value for money.

From our first stay, we knew the Verve would be our NYC hotel.

The Verve is about 5 minutes out of Manhattan on the subway, a taxi from midtown is only about $12 so being off the island of Manhattan no hardship at all. And Astoria and other Queens neighborhoods should not be missed to get the true flavors that really is NYC. Hop on the 7 train and on and off for one of the best international food tours this world has to offer!!

For a great, affordable, clean and spacious hotel the Verve is it. And breakfast is included ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i made a last min reservation here for valentine's day this year and everything was amazing the staff very helpful and friendly and the room was amazing for the value. Very romantic, we loved it and look forward to staying again. Didn't get to try the breakfast do to the fact that we slept in but amazing accommodations. Right around the corner from the train station

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Verve in Oct 2012 and had a fabulous time! 4th time in NYC but the 1st time outside Manhattan and just booked to return again this year. Far cheaper option but same standard of rooms with a free breakfast thrown in to set you up for the day. Staff are welcoming and very friendly; nothing is too much trouble. 10 min subway journey to Times Square from a subway only 5 min walk away. Would definitely recommend saving a few hundred dollars and stay in Long Island!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for 9 nights in new-york city, we found Verve hotel with just 3 minutes walk to subway station and 10 minutes to Manhattan.
the hotel place in a quiet area in long island city, there isn't and commercial or shopping area near it, in nights the neighborhood is very boring.
the breakfast is OK, it can be more colorful if they had a few more products or to change the ingredients in a few days.
the staff was helpful and friendly and there is a free WIFI internet indoor.
one day we didn't have hot water in our room so it was a freezing bath for us, we let the counter know that and they switch us rooms when we came back in the evening telling us there is a problem with the hot water in our floor.
the new room has this noisy sound that we couldn't get any sleep at night, we called the reception desk at 06:00 am and they send a guy that told us the noise is from the rain outside, I must say that we know how the rain sounds and we didn't heard that sound in our old room, they told us they can't switch us rooms because we have to wait till morning but we just wanted to get some sleep. at last they gave us another room not letting us leave our staff in the room so we had to move all our belongings in the morning and we were very tired and just wanted to get some sleep.
if that incident wouldn't happen I think this hotel is very good and has reasonable price but I think their conducting in that case wasn't that pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall it was a Great hotel , Staff was very friendly to my son and I. The Rooms are small but its Nyc so you have to expect that. All around was great stay. Rooms are Very clean , And the Breakfast is ok typical hotel breakfast. I would recommended this place to family and friends . So much cheaper the Manhattan hotels. Keep up the good work and focus on customer service.
Thanks again to the staff at the verve . You all are excellent.

George

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We picked this hotel randomly and couldnt have been happier with our choice. The staff is friendly. They were very helpful and attentive to our needs. The rooms are super clean and spacious. 2 blocks from the subway and a 10 min, 2 stop ride to midtown Manhattan. Great location and convenience to Manhattan without the Manhattan price tag. Breakfast included. Best coffee! Latte anyone? The game room with pool table and air hockey is a fun way to just relax a little while at the hotel. A gym if you are into working out. Love that they have guest washing machine and dryer and it's FREE! all you pay is $1 for soap and it's Tide, the good stuff :) Loved leaving with clean clothes instead of going home with a suitcase full of dirty laundry. The hotel is worth every penny. I don't have one complaint about this hotel and would stay again and again and would recommend it to all my friends and family. Perfect if you are taking a long vacatioin in NYC or just spending a weekend in the city. P.S. we came with our 9mo old daughter and the hotel has cute little cribs for the babes and she slept like an angel. They also have a little smoking area in the basement which was great during the cold month of Feb. Out of the way and underground so if you are not a smoker you are not affected. The rooms are all smoke free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.