We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Schertz, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This has got to be the best hotel value in NYC.

To begin with the hotel is as nice as any hotel I have stayed at in Manhattan. The carpet and decor looks new, the rooms are a very nice size, even the non-suites, and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel also has a breakfast buffet with some type of eggs and bacon or sausage daily, as well as cereal, waffles, bagels, toast, and fruit. Oh, and the breakfast are is large enough that there is always a table available. The hotel also has a small workout room and laundry room, as well as a smoking area in the garage. The last is big convenience when it is 15 degrees outside in February. Finally, you don't have the noise of Manhattan - a fire truck or police car is not waking you up every 30 minutes.

What really makes the hotel shine though is the staff. They are excellent. Everyone is always happy to help with anything - from needing directions or restaurant suggestions to providing a can opener at 3AM. You can tell everyone actually likes their job, they are not just being polite. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel where you could say the staff really liked being there? It makes a difference.

If that is not enough, you can always find the hotel owner - Pete - around. Either behind the front desk, having breakfast in the food area or having a cigar in the smoking area. When was the last time the actual owner of the hotel asked you if everything was good with your stay. Pete really listens too. If you make an offhand comment that the iron in your room is kind of old, you are likely to have someone from housekeeping knocking on your door in the next 30 minutes with a new one.

The hotel is also 5 minutes from the Queens Plaza and Queensborough subway stations. It takes me 25 minutes to get from from my hotel room to outside the Port Authority Station in the middle of Manhattan. Or you can get to any other part of the city from those two stations.

There are also plenty of restaurant choices in the area. You can walk to several within a one to 4 block radius or about half a dozen with deliver to your hotel room. You can also take a 5 minute subway ride on the 7 train to Sunnyside in Queens and take your pick from a dozen different restaurants.

I travel to NYC for business every month for at least a week - often for two weeks. I won't stay anywhere else than the Verve. For half of what it costs to stay in Manhattan, less during the tourist season, I get a much nicer room with truly outstanding service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    351
    84
    7
    28
See reviews for
258
534
103
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stay here regularly for work and plan to bring my family for vacation this summer. Clean hotel, spacious rooms, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is good. Price is right, and less crowded than Manhattan hotels. Convenient to the subway - one block from the E train, 3 blocks from the 7.

Take E to 42nd St for Times Square. Or if you want a break from the Manhattan crowds walk 3 blocks to the 7 local train and head east for 3 stops to Sunnyside Queens. Lots of good restaurants and bars in Sunnyside. Go all the way to Main St. Flushing for authentic Chinese food.

From LGA airport, take the Q33 bus. Stay on to the last stop then take 7 train and get off at Queensboro plaza. From JFK, take the Airtrain to Jamaica station then the E train to Queens plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stay here every time I am in NY because it is close to my client. But it is also very easy to get to Manhattan and the staff provides very good service. I especially like the latte/cappuccino machine downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Average hotel, clean, close to subway so you are in Manhattan in 10 minutes. Big rooms and better price compared to hotels in Manhattan. We didn't had the breakfast neither used any service, so I cannot comment on that. So to sum up - the hotel is good, but I don't have any reason to return here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My daughter and I were looking for apartments in NYC traveling all over town from morning to night. As two females, we felt very happy,comfortable and safe coming back to the Verve each night. The room was a good size and always clean. We enjoyed breakfast each morning, especially the mini vegetable omelets. The staff was a big part of why we felt so comfortable staying there. They were friendly and extremely helpful. We were so pleased that we found this place and liked having the parking garage rather than dealing with on-street parking. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the Verve!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great hotel for travellers to New York. Access from JFK and LGA is easy and relatively cheap; several subway lines are available within a 5-7 minute walk. The staff are first rate, from the cheerful breakfast room staff, through cleaning staff to those who work at reception; nothing is too much trouble. In the 4 years that I've been coming here there has been very little turn over of staff and that suggests to me that it must be a good place to work. Not a single staff member was ever anything less than good-humoured, polite and helpful. The rooms are quite spacious compared with comparable Manhattan hotels, cleaned well each day and with very good amenities. This is not a Ritz or a Plaza - it's a friendly, comfortable home away from home, where everyone works hard to give guests a good stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you're in New York, it isn't to spend time in a hotel room, but there are some great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the Verve Hotel. The hotel is in a good location...only a few blocks from the subway and only about a 5-10 minute train ride into the city. They have a parking garage below the hotel. Be warned that if you are driving an SUV it is a tight fit. Ours fit, but it was tricky to maneuver it around. The rooms were nice...our room was on the first floor, which I found a little odd. I didn't realize they had guest rooms on the first floor. There wasn't a lot of noise from the street though. The free breakfast was good too. I'd stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.