We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Allen,TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stay here every time I am in NY because it is close to my client. But it is also very easy to get to Manhattan and the staff provides very good service. I especially like the latte/cappuccino machine downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    680
    297
    58
    6
    16
See reviews for
222
466
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Average hotel, clean, close to subway so you are in Manhattan in 10 minutes. Big rooms and better price compared to hotels in Manhattan. We didn't had the breakfast neither used any service, so I cannot comment on that. So to sum up - the hotel is good, but I don't have any reason to return here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My daughter and I were looking for apartments in NYC traveling all over town from morning to night. As two females, we felt very happy,comfortable and safe coming back to the Verve each night. The room was a good size and always clean. We enjoyed breakfast each morning, especially the mini vegetable omelets. The staff was a big part of why we felt so comfortable staying there. They were friendly and extremely helpful. We were so pleased that we found this place and liked having the parking garage rather than dealing with on-street parking. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the Verve!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great hotel for travellers to New York. Access from JFK and LGA is easy and relatively cheap; several subway lines are available within a 5-7 minute walk. The staff are first rate, from the cheerful breakfast room staff, through cleaning staff to those who work at reception; nothing is too much trouble. In the 4 years that I've been coming here there has been very little turn over of staff and that suggests to me that it must be a good place to work. Not a single staff member was ever anything less than good-humoured, polite and helpful. The rooms are quite spacious compared with comparable Manhattan hotels, cleaned well each day and with very good amenities. This is not a Ritz or a Plaza - it's a friendly, comfortable home away from home, where everyone works hard to give guests a good stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you're in New York, it isn't to spend time in a hotel room, but there are some great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the Verve Hotel. The hotel is in a good location...only a few blocks from the subway and only about a 5-10 minute train ride into the city. They have a parking garage below the hotel. Be warned that if you are driving an SUV it is a tight fit. Ours fit, but it was tricky to maneuver it around. The rooms were nice...our room was on the first floor, which I found a little odd. I didn't realize they had guest rooms on the first floor. There wasn't a lot of noise from the street though. The free breakfast was good too. I'd stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked a suite to be able to have the family join us for gatherings but the carpet was so dirty & the carpet so stained that I didn't want to take my shoes off or sit down, much less have anyone else in the room. The sheets were thin, gray & felt grainy so where the towels. The whole room felt dirty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmny330, Manager at Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear thefhouse,

First and foremost thank you for selecting the Verve Hotel to be your host in NYC. Our ultra-spacious King Suites are ideal for luxurious business or tourist travelers alike. After a detailed investigation, it was noted that you were trying to have 9 members of your family/friend occupy one room. Verve staff is trained to focus and produce a customer oriented setting were we bend backwards to please each and every one of our guests. But having 9 people occupy one room violates the NYS Occupancy Law. As inconvenient as this may sound it is for your protection as well as our other guests. In regards to your negative comments about our cleanliness it is evident that they were falsely accused since your party of 9 were not welcomed to occupy a single room for the night. Furthermore, Verve has a manager on duty 24 hours, if the room was not perfect it would have been effective for you to contact the Front Desk immediately and the Manager would have switched your room immediately. Verve Hotel caters to all sorts of travelers but NOT party groups since they tend to be loud and disrupt the other guests comfort. We did offer a solution of reserving another room at a discount allowing you to spread the group. Verve Hotel has an outstanding rating for cleanliness from all of our guests as you can see with an approval rating of 97% on Trip Advisor. We are the #1 Hotel in Queens and surpass all others in reviews and excellent comments by a unanimous margin. I hope in the near future you will give us another opportunity to serve you for a different occasion than what was planned. Please feel free to contact me and we can work together for making your next trip to NYC an excellent experience.

Thank you,
Yash - Manager
Yash@vervehotel.com
718-786-4545 Ext 702
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got to the hotel very early in the morning after a long 12 hours flight. My wife is pretty sick from the flight and needed a good rest. The hotel manager noticed it and managed to get us a room in about 9:30 am!!! We were really grateful for that. Other than that, the hotel has a nice view to Manhattan and you have a subway station very close (about 5 minutes walk) that brings you to times square in about 10 minutes. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was pretty good too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.