We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got to the hotel very early in the morning after a long 12 hours flight. My wife is pretty sick from the flight and needed a good rest. The hotel manager noticed it and managed to get us a room in about 9:30 am!!! We were really grateful for that. Other than that, the hotel has a nice view to Manhattan and you have a subway station very close (about 5 minutes walk) that brings you to times square in about 10 minutes. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was pretty good too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    271
    48
    7
    14
See reviews for
211
431
82
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here with friends biased on Trip advisor reviews. It lived up to all the excellent reviews. Staff were extremely helpful with helping tourists. We walked the area to go to a number of restaurants without any problems and felt safe. Ideal location for 2 metro stations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here over Thanksgiving for 3 nights with a group of teenage girls attending a rugby tournament. Have to say all the staff were very helpfull and were always accomodating to our needs and very friendly to the girls, (even when we would take over their lobby!) The rooms are comfortable and clean, hotel is conveniently located near two different subway stations making access to Manhattan a breeze.

Parking is tight but safe and reasonable in the basement for only $25 per night. Will definatey use the Verve again on any return trip to the NYC area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Happy NY (translate is up to you)!! This hotel has been a surpise for us! Everything was above our expectations. Clean, cozy, spacious, warm, nice view (better for king size rooms), great amenities, complementary breakfast, kind and helpful staff (apart from check out which is strictly 12.00). The location is PERFECT for Manhattan visitors (that cannot afford Manhattan) and in a safe neighboor. Well done! Keep on..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family and 2 relatives just came back from 2 comfortable nights at the Verve Dec 8-10. We chose it because it was very close to the city for about $100-$150 less a night than a comparable room in midtown.

I'll confirm all the other positive comments I read before choosing this hotel: excellent service, clean rooms, a nice hot breakfast, a superb location, large rooms with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Speaking of the customer service - we made an adjustment in our reservation of room types and dates. The change resulted in a lower price for our stay. I noticed this upon returning home, called back to NY and the staff handled this with the utmost professionalism. No haggling or run-around - just a quick adjustment to our bill. That alone would have me recommending this hotel.

I really have nothing to add to the most recent reviews, but perhaps some tips and perspective. When we drove in from New England the hotel was very easy to get to thanks to our GPS. There is very limited parking on the street and everything was taken each day we stepped out. The Verve has a very small, low underground garage that charged us $25 a day. I thought that was reasonable, but it was a really tight, low fit. I probably should have chose another option for our Honda SUV. On the 2 small floors it appears there were 8 - 10 spaces total.

You may read that the neighborhood is in transition - that's true. This appeared to be a somewhat faded, commercial / industrial zone. You will not find Starbucks and book stores on the corner. More like warehouse buildings, empty lots, some graffiti, trash dumpsters, heavy construction work, mechanics garages. Nothing sketchy or seedy - just a working class neighborhood. With that said, our family of Mainers felt 100% safe walking back from the Metro station to the hotel at 11:30 at night. The walk to the station is 2 blocks away - downhill to the station, uphill returning at night. From the 39 Av station you can take the N-Q - R trains and be in midtown in 10 minutes flat. On our first day we got off at Lexington Ave at the base of Central Park.

The nearest shopping and restaurants I could see were 4 - 5 blocks from of the hotel. There was a nice little delicatessen across from the 39th Ave subway station where you can grab a sandwich or coffee. I have a feeling that in the next 5 years the area will clean up considerably.

As others have written, the hotel breakfast will save you some money and time. When we had it, it was scrambled eggs, turkey bacon (avoid) Belgian waffles, bagels, donuts, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. Just off the kitchen there was small business center with 2 internet connected computers and a printer.

I've heard others complain about noise on the subway side of the building, but our family said they didn't notice a thing. Speaking of the subway side, we had 2 of our party stay on the side with city views and they really did not think this was worth the added expense. I actually had the same reaction when I stayed in a room overlooking the beautiful Niagara Falls. It's nice for a moment or two, but really how much time do you spend starring out the window when you have just a few days in the city?

All in all we had a great stay at the Verve and we'll be back later this year. My wife is very picky about hotels and trips, and she agrees that this was a hidden gem, a stone's throw from midtown.

Room Tip: Save your money and skip the view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Verve - spacious room, friendly staff, free breakfast ++ We bought the unlimited ride subway card, and used the subway both to get into Manhattan and exploring Queens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over New Year's (2012-2013) for four nights and had a wonderful time. We were drawn to this hotel because of the great location close to the subway and the excellent pricing for a location so close to Manhattan.

This place did not disappoint - the rooms were spacious, clean and exceeded my expectations. There was free good wifi and the complimentary breakfast was great.

From this hotel were we easily able to access the nearby subway stations and used them at any time of day. Buy a week pass, it is worth it. The staff was always pleasant and looking to accommodate us any way they could.

I challenge anyone to find a better deal for their very reasonable prices. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Manhattan view, it gets you away from the trains that pass by the hotel regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York
Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.