We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel near Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very good hotel near Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very good hotel near Manhattan

I stayed at the Verve hotel with a friend a few days ago, at the beginning of Oct.
Like many views I saw here, the hotel has a very kind staff and very helpful.
We arrived at the evening and parked our car outside, across the street. When we asked if that's ok, someone from the front desk went out with us and advised us where to park the car for the night, so we won't get a ticked. He could have told us to park the car at the hotel parking area, but that would have cost us 25$ for a day – so they weren't greedy!
Our room (double queen) was very spacious and very clean, even the bathroom. Breakfast is also very good: bagels, eggs, bacon, waffles, fruit. The coffee machine is open all day and night for free use.
The only reason I'm giving the hotel 4 points instead of 5, is the area the hotel is located in. it's not dangerous at all, just an industrial area which is not so nice to be in.
This was my third visit in Manhattan. The 2 previous times I stayed in hotels located inside the city. They were very expensive, old and without breakfast.
In total: the hotel is highly recommend for staying near the expensive Manhattan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    305
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
231
474
85
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this hotel entirely on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and advice on location and were so glad we did. Our room was a decent size, clean, very comfortable with wifi etc. The free breakfasts were more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. By staying in Long Island City we got a better hotel for probably $100 less per night than in Manhattan. The subway is 2 blocks away, and it is 4 stops to Grand Central Station. Coming back at night the area was deserted rather than scary.
Useful tip. The front desk gave us perfect directions for the subway, but when you go down, remember to turn round and check what the entrance is called. We didn't and when we came back got completely disoriented. For the record, the Verve is just north of the subway. The Queens Plaza entrance is on Northern Boulevard and is at the extreme front of the platform when coming from Manhattan. For Queensboro Plaza it is the north entrance. Easier to find coming back, but to enter you need to go through a hole in the wall next to Dunkin Donuts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first visit to the USA and it got off to a great start by staying at the Verve. Tom was very helpful with his advice about getting into the city and where to go. I certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Verve while apartment hunting in Astoria. It was 1 block from the subway, which made it so easy to travel through Astoria and get over to Manhattan! The accommodations were awesome and we were bumped up to a suite from a king sized room just because it was available! The employees were all great and the complimentary breakfast had so much to choose from. Our room was so quiet and dark, so we slept really well. I don't have one negative comment to make about our stay at Verve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights, all personnel extremely helpful. Rooms clean (no bedbags:)) . Subway station just some blocks to go to Manhattan. Great breakfast, complinentary wireless, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent a week in this hotel recently and agree with all those wonderful reviews I had seen. The location is perhaps not as good as in Manhatten BUT the hotel and staff more than made up for this. Only a 5 min walk to subway and a couple of stops and you are in Times Square. We even walked to Central Park one day ( across Queensboro bridge ... About a 40 min walk.. ) right from the moment we walked into the foyer we felt welcome and nothng was too much trouble for all the staff, especially "Pete" .... He always met us with a big smile and offered assistance with directions and subway tips and assurances about how safe the area was. I have stayed in many hotels around the world but this one would have to be number 1 for customer service. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and the included breakfast was really good. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed 8 nights at the Verve Hotel and were very happy with the service we received. From the moment we stepped in the door the owner Tom and his staff were cheerful and friendly, and willing to help out with tips and suggestions. The rooms were quite clean, and we enjoyed having a couch to watch TV on. The gym facilities were adequate, and while there was no pool, the weather hardly warranted a need for one anyway.

The hotel is a block away from the 39th St Subway station on the N & Q line, and we were able to walk to the station easily and within 15 mins be in the heart of Manhattan. There were also a number of excellent restaurants close by to the hotel. The hotel itself does not have a restaurant attached, however the hotel does provide complimentary breakfast, an added bonus.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: King Suite includes a couch - Very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.