We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here for 5nights from 3rd Dec '11 and the service was outstanding, huge room, nothing was a bother for the staff, I cannot rate this hotel high enough...

We normally stay at the Days Inn LIC and decided to try here for a change and am so pleased we did!

Yes the area is under serious redevelopment, but is totally safe, the subway is literally a 5min walk (roughly 250m to the N/Q line and 300m to the R/E line) and it takes about 5mins ride time to get into Lexington Ave & 10mins tops for Times Square!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from elevator with a Manhattan View ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    325
    69
    7
    25
See reviews for
239
494
95
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howard City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

this hotel is a great place to stay at. the rooms are clean and my suite was nice. two flat screen tv make for a relaxing evening . the bed is very comfortable and allowed us to get a good nights sleep. for being in new york i was very supprised at the friendly staff . everyone here greeted us by name and was so helpfull , this is like being home. i spend over 270 nights on the road and have never been treated with this kind of respect , we will return each time work takes us to the area, you can spend more but you will not find service like this somewhere else, give them a try and you will be very happy , i actually look forward to retuning , just wish it was pleasure not work . Pete has done a great job here !

Room Tip: get the suite a great view of the city lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel on my first visit to New York. The hotel itself is in good condition, clean with good size rooms, decent breakfast and free internet. The only fault with our room was that there was no wardrobe, just a small closet that could have done with a bit more room to hang up a few things, but maybe I'm just being a bit picky! The staff in this hotel are excellent. Its great to be welcomed everyday by a smiling face and they were ever so helpful. There appears to be a bit of building work going on in the area so there can be a bit of noise from around 6am but some earplugs sorts that out. The area itself is very quiet in the evenings with nothing in the way of restaurants or bars in the immediate vicinity. However, we were aware from previous reviews that this was the case and were well pleased with how well the area was well serviced by 3 subway stations (39ave being the closest). Anyway Manhattan is so huge I think you really need to use the subway to get round it anyway so this hotel location was no big deal to us - 2 stops got you into Manhattan. If you do want a quieter night in Long Island City I would suggest a short 10 minute walk down to 36 Avenue were we found a great Thai restaurant 'Arharn Thai' - its was nice to get a glass of wine with your meal for $3.50 and not $8/10 as you would pay in most Manhattan restaurants! Also, I would recommend that you print out some directions if you are taking the subway in from JFK. The hotel itself is only about 5/10 minutes walk from the Queens Plaza subway but it can take about half an hour if your not prepared!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This gem of a hotel is how my wife an I save a ton of money when we go to NYC. If you want to spend 300 to 400 for a phonebooth size room in Manhattan go right ahead.
This hotel is in Long Island City and a short walk to a subway will get you to Manhattan in about 15 minutes. We paid 110 for nice full size king room with a view of NYC. They have onsite parking , but driving in the area is crazy. Take a cab to the hotel and anywhere you can't reach by subway. There are several ethnic restaurants in the area (Brazilian, Greek and Portugeuse). There is no problem walking in the area after dark. This hotel is owned by Choice...it is their top of the line brand.

Room Tip: Ask for one on one of the upper floors with a view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Having experienced the astronomic prices of Manhattan Hotels on previous occasions we were looking for more room and less money as we planned a 10 night stay. Despite some trepidation about the convenience of this Long Island City location the price for our King Suite in combination with the great TA reviews convinced us to give it a try - and we are really glad we did. From our contact prior to our arrival through to our departure everything was great. Yash and his team went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Our initial reservations about the location were quickly lost as the subway, via Queens Plaza (underground) or Queensboro Plaza ( above) was an easy 5+ mins walk away.

The area around the hotel whilst safe, offers little by way of entertainment or restaurants but there are some small stores and the staff can point you in their direction (one suggestion would be for the hotel to have a small local map showing these places and the subway entrances)

Our room was spacious and comfortable but on occasion the cleaning staff weren't as thorough as could be - it wasn't bad but it wasn't up to the standard of the rest of our experience there.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time. Thanks to all the Verve team for your efforts.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of larger suites - worth the money for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good sized and clean rooms. Great service by the staff with a good breakfast. For the price you pay you could not do much better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We loved the Verve and it lived up to all our expectations. Tom was a great benefit
and was very helpful and caring. The staff was helpful, managed by Yash. Breakfasts
were more than adaquate and only a 2 block walk to the subway. We hope we get a
chance to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.