We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenager girls) stayed at the Verve for 3 nights in August 2011. We had stayed at a different LIC hotel last summer, which we were unhappy with, and wanted to try the Verve based on the reviews from this site. We chose LIC because of the close location to Manhattan, and the much more affordable hotel rates. We had a wonderful experience at the Verve, and were very impressed with how nice and accomodating the staff was! Our room (king sized bed with pull out sofa) was very clean, the included breakfast was plentiful (my daughters loved the waffles!), and we loved the little touches like an in-room refrigerator and safe, and free internet! We also loved the three available computers in the hotel lobby with FREE printing, although the printer was out of ink while we were there. The price was terrific, and we actually paid less for this hotel than we did the lousy one we stayed at last summer! The hotel is located close to the subway station (a few blocks away), and it was quick to get to Manhattan. Our only complaint was the shower--the shower head was terrible and the water pressure was low.......my two daughters, both with long, thick hair, had problems getting the soap out of their hair because of the old fashioned, poorly designed shower head and low water pressure......All in all, we would DEFINITELY stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    678
    297
    58
    6
    16
See reviews for
222
464
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I can't say enough how enjoyable our stay at this hotel was. Friendly, Comfortable, Clean & Close to everything. It's a quick shot into Manhattan and you can look forward to coming back to complete comfort! Thanks Verve !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

I booked this hotel at the last minute because we scored some Yankee's tickets. I used my points for the rooms and was very pleased with my choice. We were greeted by the very friendly staff and offered top notch service.

The hotel was easy to get to being located right by the Queensboro Bridge and subway stop.

Having spent many nights in hotels in and around the city I found the rooms to be very clean, spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We are a family of 4 staying for 4 nights & we found the hotel excellent. The staff, without exception are incredibly friendly, from the manager right through to the cleaning ladies. There are lots of little extra things that make the stay even easier. For example, a complimentary washer & dryer, a room for the kids to play pool/table football, a gym. Small things that are helpful with kids. The complimentary breakfast was also great. A selection of bagels, toast, fruit etc & a nice extra meal that we then didn't have to buy in the city. The room itself was really nice & very clean. The beds were very comfortable. To be honest, I would highly recommend coming here if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in New York.
It only took us between 15-20 minutes to get into the centre of the city,dependant on which trains we got.
There was also a complimentary coffee machine which was very nice.Can't really fault it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Having never been to New York, we were a little concerned with what we might find. The hotel was more than we thought possible with such a low price. It was clean and, more importantly during the heat wave that was going on when we were there, cool. Even the hallways smelled clean and were comfortable! Every time we walked into the lobby, we were greeted in such a way that truly made us feel the staff was glad to see us. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day. The ladies stocking and cleaning hustled around and joked around with the manager, Tom. Tom was very helpful and willing to help with anything we needed. Realistically, there's always something . . . I will say that the area did make me a little nervous as we walked to the train. There's graffitti and vacant lots. We never saw anyone questionable though, and there were always a few people walking our way. . . I have a picture of our room that, when I look at it, takes me back to the wonderful stay we had at the Verve. If I could go again tomorrow, I would!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Very good value. Excellent breakfast included along with free internet use. Everyone was very helpful. Not an area to wander around, but there are subway stops close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Hartford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I spent five months (from March to August) staying at the Verve hotel every week from Monday to Thursday. The hotel is clean, the rooms spacious and the staff extremely helpful and accommodating. A basic but nutricious buffet breakfast of cereals, scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh fruits, etc, is included. It's conveniently close (two blocks)to the E subway line, two stops away from Manhattan, and easy access to the La Guardia and JFK airports. I would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime.

Kjell

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.