We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOMA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave., Long Island City, NY 11101-5324
718-784-2084
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MOMA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Amazing huge museum! Fantastic exhibits but expect to spend a half of a day there. It is near The Avenue of the Americas and not too far from Times Square.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    52
    30
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter and I ventured here after visiting the MoMA because it was included in our admission price and we were not disappointed. I think I enjoyed more than the MoMA. There was a lot of installation art and it was very unique. There weren't a lot of people there and we enjoyed that a lot because it gave us more time with the art instead of being rushed along in the crowd. It was very easy to navigate our way here on the subway.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gem of an art venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had such a wonderful day here. Started with a fantastic breakfast at the M. Wells Diner. Fun seating in a classroom style dining room. Menu on a chalk board and each seat came with notebooks to write in. We had pork belly quiche with tasty greens on the side. I can vouch for their lattes too. Frothy layered perfection!

After a quick visit to the book store we headed for the two major shows here: Maria Lassnig and Christoph Schlingensief . Lassnig's paintings were lush and weird and stunningly beautiful. CS presented an amazing film show, and several interactive installations. Both shows were exceptional to experience!

PS1 is an superbly interesting building. One of my favorite books is A tree Grows In Brooklyn, and I think this was the school Francie & Neeley went to. If you visit NYC and want to do one GREAT art museum visit that doesn't underwhelm you, visit MOMA PS1.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just get on the 7 and go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It may seem like a long way to go, but just get on the 7 to Queens and do it. There's a dumpy taxi stand and some abandoned buildings but yes, you're in the right place. That old public school, the OG public school actually, PS1, is an afternoon dying to be wasted. Free admission with your MoMA stub too.

Openings here can be very pretentious but you'll likely rub shoulders with the artists making the working you're looking at and you can't get that at the Met. You may leave frustrated, angry and totally confused about what you've just ingested but it's art, it's contemporary art and it will stick with you at the very least.

Some of the permanent installations are fantastic, the special shows are typically packed. If you're in NYC for a week or so try to plan your visit around an event at PS1 as opposed to an empty Tuesday morning. Highly recommended if you're not an idiot who hates to think.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

of course you have to visit Moma if you come to NYC, but if you did it already and not even once and you can tell that you are a good art observer, so take a train and go to PS1, their collection is amazing and you'll love the new art in their selection.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoMA PS1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.