We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Island City -Views of Manhattan - PS 1 Step back in time to the future” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave., Long Island City, NY 11101-5324
718-784-2084
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Long Island City -Views of Manhattan - PS 1 Step back in time to the future”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

MOMA PS1 is a quick block away from the No. 7 train, Court Sq stop.
This is where MOMA does rough modern, not like Manhattan smooth MOMA. The building itself is a white elephant, rambling so that you feel as if you could follow breadcrumbs into or out of exhibits. There are three floors with twisty turny paths into little rooms with video, bigger rooms with objects, many sets of stairs and lots of guards watching you like hawks.
There is no unity there is art chaos. This does not feel sophisticated, organized or corporate. (Although that happens for sure behind the scenes.)
This feels like what you would find in an art colony, in time forgotten, in a madcap utopia, the good, the bad, the creative and occasionally the divine.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    28
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very cool experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to PS1 for our first time this June. While the building is not HUGE, it is a really great reclaim.
We spent a long time walking through, checking out some great installations, physical, audio, video.
If you like very contemporary art, I would definitely make the trip over to PS1. What a gem.

Finally, though we didn't eat there, the restaurant was super busy and smelled great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very contemporary, great building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This old school house makes a great venue for this gallery. A highlight for me was out the old boiler and plumbing covered in gold leaf in the basement (easily missed). The video material wasn't to my taste - just too bonkers - but a Lassnig exhibition was excellent. It was nice to make a trip out of Manhattan as well. Price of admission is included with ticket for MoMA.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It is my second visit to this fantastic museum - even though the current exhibitions aren't so interesting - the venue itself is wonderful, an old public school that was renovated and converted into this museum, the spaces are huge and strolling between school's classrooms and corridors offer a unique experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

 
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoMA PS1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.