We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very contemporary, great building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave., Long Island City, NY 11101-5324
718-784-2084
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very contemporary, great building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This old school house makes a great venue for this gallery. A highlight for me was out the old boiler and plumbing covered in gold leaf in the basement (easily missed). The video material wasn't to my taste - just too bonkers - but a Lassnig exhibition was excellent. It was nice to make a trip out of Manhattan as well. Price of admission is included with ticket for MoMA.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    29
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It is my second visit to this fantastic museum - even though the current exhibitions aren't so interesting - the venue itself is wonderful, an old public school that was renovated and converted into this museum, the spaces are huge and strolling between school's classrooms and corridors offer a unique experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic building with alright exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are not a hardcore modern art guy, the exhibition is alright. It is like many other galleries a nice way to bend your traditional lines of thinking and to stimulate alternative ways of looking at things. However, what I will remember most is the old school building with the corridors, rooms and staircases full of character.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjøvik
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“MOMA ER KOMA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

You love it or you don't. We went there with two kids, age 5 and 10. They did not bother with this. Strange things to see, and quite big to go visit for only an hour or two. With kids maybe better with other museum.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoMA PS1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.