We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave., Long Island City, NY 11101-5324
718-784-2084
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fantastic museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It is my second visit to this fantastic museum - even though the current exhibitions aren't so interesting - the venue itself is wonderful, an old public school that was renovated and converted into this museum, the spaces are huge and strolling between school's classrooms and corridors offer a unique experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    28
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MoMA -- well worth it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Paid a visit to MoMA on my recent visit to NYC. Loved the Gaugin exhibit!!! The gallery itself is comprised of six floors. I only had time to the see the main aforesaid exhibit. But also had a chance to see the fifth floor where there were some stellar paintings by Henri Matisse, Picasso, Van Gogh, and Salvador Dali. That is something that has entered my soul which I will take with me for eternity. I'm sorry I only had a chance to glance at some of the photography exhibit. If you like art and culture put MoMA on your itinerary the next time you're in NYC!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic building with alright exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are not a hardcore modern art guy, the exhibition is alright. It is like many other galleries a nice way to bend your traditional lines of thinking and to stimulate alternative ways of looking at things. However, what I will remember most is the old school building with the corridors, rooms and staircases full of character.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjøvik
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“MOMA ER KOMA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

You love it or you don't. We went there with two kids, age 5 and 10. They did not bother with this. Strange things to see, and quite big to go visit for only an hour or two. With kids maybe better with other museum.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

 
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoMA PS1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.