We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Weird Even for Modern Art” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MoMA PS1

MoMA PS1
22-25 Jackson Ave., Long Island City, NY 11101-5324
718-784-2084
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to art and artists not well-known to the general public.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Too Weird Even for Modern Art”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited w/ my wife and 30+ son. We are all very broad minded and especially my wife and I enjoy 20th century + art, regardless of the medium. Unfortunately the 3 of all were pretty uniform in that most of the exhibits were pretentious, self indulgent and certainly not suitable for children. The mixed media parts especially. Building is very cool and the price is right (free for LIC residents and 1 guest) but I wouldnt recommend making a special trip to see the current exhibit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    52
    30
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic building with alright exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you are not a hardcore modern art guy, the exhibition is alright. It is like many other galleries a nice way to bend your traditional lines of thinking and to stimulate alternative ways of looking at things. However, what I will remember most is the old school building with the corridors, rooms and staircases full of character.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjøvik
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“MOMA ER KOMA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

You love it or you don't. We went there with two kids, age 5 and 10. They did not bother with this. Strange things to see, and quite big to go visit for only an hour or two. With kids maybe better with other museum.....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I must have gone on a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

because I found the entire thing pretentious and self-serving. I am usually a fan of modern art, but I was not at all impressed with what passed for exhibits. I have a friend in the area, so I will go back one day, if for no other reason than to write another review with confirms or contradicts this one. If all the exhibits were this bad, PS 1 would not have the reputation it currently enjoys.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very easy to get to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I like PS1 because is a fun place that have great exhibitions, you are always going to see something new in the "garden", easy to get to and a great restaurant for lunch

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoMA PS1 also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to MoMA PS1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoMA PS1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.