We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off 4 Nigths
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

For those transplanted New Yorkers that refuse to fall into the NYC tourist trap, this hotel is truly a hidden jewel. Overlooking Manhattan on the Queens side, this hotel is about 50% of the cost if it would have been on the Manhattan side. The accommodations are spacious, clean, modern with a truly amazing staff that goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. The front desk will give you just about anything you ask for including earbuds !! What most impressed me about this hotel besides the fact that you are literally 5 Subway stops away from Times Square is that this facility has a van that takes you to and fro the Subway, every 15 minutes or so. This service is available like from 7 AM till 10 or 11 PM. So if you are on your way back from the city, you just call 10 minutes ahead of time and the Hotels van will be there waiting for you as you get off the train. Truly a worthwhile place; very family friendly and extremely price competitive, including free wi-fi and a FULL breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of Manhattan but really every room is newly remodeled and very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    154
    56
    16
    17
See reviews for
110
114
28
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband is a Platinum Elite Marriott Member so we always stay at Marriott properties when traveling. We had a free night's stay in the New York area last week and couldn't use our certificate in Manhattan so we stayed at the Fairfield Inn Long Island City for one night and then moved to another Marriott property in midtown for the rest of our stay. The hotel is a short ride from LaGuardia airport. The location is in an isolated area of Long Island City near the highway but not noisy at all. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was fairly small but not horribly tight. The bathroom was a very decent size for a Fairfield with a nice size vanity/sink area similar to the size in a New York Courtyard property. Our king bed and pillows were comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. The breakfast had a huge variety of breads, bagels, muffins, cereals and a few hot items. There was plenty for all the guests and items were replenished as necessary. The hotel shuttle takes you to the subway which is quite a distance. The shuttle stops at 10:45pm which is not convenient for us since we are big theater people and don't return to our hotel until after midnight. A cab ride is $25.00 from midtown Manhattan at that time. The hotel is fine - we just wish it were more conveniently located near a subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Long Island City NY and let me tell you they have a phenomenal team there starting from the front desk to the bar and even housekeeping...There were two people there that I interacted with alot during my stay and they definitely made sure my stay was as pleasant as it could be and those two individuals were Jasmine and Lysette.I do come to NY frequently and I will be staying at your hotel again just for those 2 associates you have as well as the rest of the staff whom were very friendly...Kudos to the GM these people deserve a round of applause!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and it was a very good choice. The rooms were quite big, clean and beds very comfortable. Staff on reception were polite and helpful also shuttle drivers. We had a top floor room with a nice manhattan view :). Also breakfast were fine and enough for choice. The shuttle bus takes you to and from subway till 11pm ( subway to manhattan takes about 15-20mins ) I definitely recommend this hotel, it's a good value, great service and nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room, they have a nice views and less noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Myself, my wife and two children enjoyed our 8 days at he FILICNY. We experienced all of the great service and amenities commented on previously here @ TA. Clean rooms are my #1 priority and the rooms here met my picky standards. Service was great as our room was cleaned every day including sheets, pillow cases, towels soap, shampoo conditioner all changed daily. I left the room neat so they were able to vacuum, dust empty garbage. All of these things were done daily so we returned to a clean, neat, and sanitary room every night. Im not suggesting it but we left our inexpensive laptop In the room during the day and it was untouched. The location was unimportant to us as we got on the very convenient shuttle to the 33rd & Rawson metro stop into Manhattan everyday. Tipping the drivers isn't required but when I had the cash I dropped $2 on the them. When ever I called at night, usually around 9.30 or 10 they were there to pick us up within 15 minutes. The breakfast in the morning was complete with a lot of options. My only issue is I don't care for sausage links or the sausage turkey patties they have. Maybe put out some corned beef hash or bacon once in a while would be nice. The best part of the breakfast is the waffles. They have a waffle griddle out weekdays and not weekends. The ****STAR**** of my stay was Mara who worked in the kitchen in the morning. On the Monday of my stay the waffle griddle was on the fritz as the lower griddle was not working properly, she had one on order but it was not there yet. So Mara rather than pull the griddle out of order had a painstaking process she used to get a decent waffle off the griddle without it falling apart. Every waffle she had to thoroughly clean the plates, spray the plate lightly with non stick pour the batter on the plate and start cooking the waffle. For the 2.5 minutes the waffle as cooking she would go back into the kitchen and continue with stocking fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage etc. When the waffle was done she would go back and remove the sticky waffle from the plate in one piece and start the whole process over again. She could have easily put an out of order sign or pulled the griddle off the floor but she took the initiative and I was delighted to have my waffle that morning. The next day the new griddle had arrived and the griddle was up and working perfectly for the rest of our stay. I have to say that this type of attitude to is prevalent throughout this hotel and it is refreshing to find this commitment to service. I had a room with two queen sized beds that were soft comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious but the room itself was a little small which was not a problem for us as all we did was shower and sleep there. I also thought the desk and chair set up was a little tight but manageable if that's important to you. Overall it was a great stay, clean and comfortable with a great breakfast to get you going in the morning. For weekends I paid $137 and weekdays $93 per night. These savings allowed us to take in a 2nd broadway show and splurge on meals we may not have on a family budget vacation. Thank You everyone at the FILICNY for making our stay in NY pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My first and final reaction to this hotel..avoid!!
Went to NY for a business trip. Stayed at Fairfield for 3 nights
The location: shady, creepy, a little far from metro/subway
(Though they provide shuttle service every 30 mins)

The hotel itself is not so great...wont believe it..when I opened the wardrobe, the entire door was in my hands !!
Service was just about OK..
The plus point: was affordable
Great view of Manhattan skyline

Still disappointed with the stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While the hotel is in an area that is more industrial than residential we are not shady. The hotel is across the street from a filming studio and theres a college a few blocks away. There are also many restaurants along Queens Blvd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a very clean hotel with a no frills breakfast. A great, inexpensive alternative if you are doing a quick trip to NY. Busy in the morning but a quiet and easy stay. Bathrooms are great. Room is not very fancy but sheets are great and mattress was firm. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.