We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to shop in NYC took a while for the shuttle to come pick me up from the train it was cold and rainy. Room was clean but toilet would run sometimes after flushing did report to front desk. Breakfast was ok Starbucks coffee was a plus. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Front Office Supervisor at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. I am glad that you had a good stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    150
    56
    14
    16
See reviews for
108
110
28
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

After being stuck in a snow storm this was the only available hotel.. It is clean and comfortable. Bit noisy though, no muffling from traffic heading over to Manhattan. No restaurant on site and open only for breakfast. Tis is not a faction hotel only if you are stuck close to La Guardia

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Front Office Supervisor at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to each and every guest. I do apologize that you were stuck here due to the snow storm. I hope that next time you are in the NYC area you will chose our hotel so that we may change the way you feel about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything that one can expect in a 2.5 star is here, and done very well actually. By that I mean the cleanliness, the comfort and size of the bed, the bathroom amenities, the FREE shuttle drop off and PICK UP from a hotel, wifi connectivity and of course, the complimentary breakfast (and parking for those who are driving).

The only things that disappointed me were:
1) Preferred rooms on higher level indicated upon reservation | I understand that it wasn't guaranteed. Unfortunately, we got the 2nd level, floor above the lobby, and we definitely heard the noise on the street. From cop noises, car honks and of course, warehouse noise. Thank goodness we were so tired so we easily ignored it. And of course, there was no view for us. :(
2) WALLS ARE THIN | I have been in many hotels but never really experienced the whole "I can hear the people on the next room" kind of thing. This hotel, gave me this. In short, if you are a light sleeper, definitely bring ear plugs. One night, the noise from the other room was making us feel very uncomfortable, we were contemplating on complaining.

Room Tip: Get the top floor room to avoid noise from the streets Bring ear plugs to avoid noise from the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Front Office Supervisor at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Ms. Casin,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We value your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize that we were unable to fulfill your request to be on a higher floor. The next time that you are in the NYC area I hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Returning from vacation in St Lucia, we found that our Jet Blue flight from JFK to our home base in Rochester, New York, had been cancelled, along with a lot of other flights. We needed a place to stay and found there were no rooms available anywhere near JFK. When we called the hotel we had stayed at overnight on our trip to St Lucia (the Fairfield Inn at Jamaica right at JFK) they told us the Fairfield Inn at Long Island City had rooms.

We called, got a room, thought at least we are not sleeping in the airport, and got a taxi. We were VERY pleasantly surprised with what we found. Clean, comfortable room, reasonable price, very polite and professional staff (Ali was particularly helpful). Breakfast next morning was very good; hot as well as cold food available; real good coffee. The staff helped us with locating a car rental option to get back home and arranged a car to get us to the rental place.

This place might be a "sleeper"; sort of "diamond in the rough". We will think about staying here next time we are in NYC.

Room Tip: We did not get a Manhattan View room so not anything to add here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind reveiw of our hotel. We appreciate you feedback and your time. Our goal is to provide all of our guest with service that will make you want to return I am so happy we were able to deliver this during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and our breakfast. Good to hear that you will consider us for future stays. Looking forward to meeting you the next time you are here. Thanks again from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Basically found a great weekend deal for this spot... Can't complain! Free breakfast wifi fitness center. I basically was totally satisfied. The location isn't perfect for transportation but they offer a shuttle, and if you have a car like I did, parking was easy on the street and therefore wasnt an issue. Comfy rooms. I had bliss here :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind reveiw of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and your time. Our goal is to provide all of our guest with service that will make you want to return I am so happy we were able to deliver this during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here, please consider us for you.Thanks again from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

During a snowstorm I booked this last minute through another site not direct. I was confirmed but when I got there they didn't have my reservation and they were fully booked. The front desk team handled the situation very well even though it was not their fault. First they called around to try and find me another room but with airports closed it was not happening. They wound up making up a room that was out of circulation due to a minor repair just so I would not be sent away "homeless" for the night. I feel they went beyond what they were responsible for.
The hotel itself is clean, modern and parking was not a problem. Breakfast was also good with hot food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a warm place to stay on a stormy night. My name is Tara and I do remember helping you with parking and the room, but I don't want to mention your name. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our hot breakfast. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Fairfield is in LONG ISLAND CITY.It has a shuttle to the subway for a short subway trip to Manhattan. The rooms were clean and they give a free breakfast. We stayed 2 days and the breakfast was packed with people with not enough seats for everyone. One would have thought there was a food shortage. If you have a car , parking can be tough. They have a heated garage; however, with maybe 15 spots. Otherwise , a nice stay and reasonably priced .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara B, Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide every guest with the service that makes you want to return. Unfortunately parking is limited but our staff will do thier best in assiting you to find a space in or around the hotel. In the summer we defintiely have more seating options in the breakfast area unfortunately during the cold season we can only utilize the space that's enclosed. We hope that on your next trip to NYC you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.