We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a city with outragous Hotel Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for a city with outragous Hotel Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Traveling from Canada, this was our first trip to NYC. We did a father/son (14 years old) trip to see an NFL game and a couple NBA games along with all the other sounds and sites. We stayed 5 nights/6 days. We arrived at 11am and they were able to accommodate us with a room right away, which was very nice.

1. The hotel itself was great. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff always was very helpful and friendly to whatever needs or questions we asked of them. The water pressure was amazing in the showers and even though on the 6th floor, we still had a great view of Manhattan (minus the industrial view in between). For a free breakfast, I thought it was very good. Both hot and cold items and plenty of different beverages as well. Seating was limited so on a busy time, expect to take food back up to your room. As far as the shuttle, in 6 days we were there, we only used the shuttle twice. If it was there we took it. We didn't bother standing around waiting for its return. It's only about a 10 min walk straight up Van Dam Street to the train. We never took it back from the train, always walked back.


I should just note, maybe being from a suburbia, Canadian city, I was a bit of a culture and location shock and there is a chance my anxiety on the area is unwarranted.

2. Location. The hotel is stuck right in the middle of a light industrial area. Lots of warehouses, garages, things of that sort. At night the area is pretty desolated. There are a few gas stations about two blocks away but nothing else around. During the day, we felt safe walking to and from the train (about 10 min walk). Van Dam street is a fairly busy road and there is also a local community college on the same road. Other than a slight uneasiness walking by a minimum security prison near the train station, it's an OK walk. Even at night it was OK but I must admit we did feel a little more uneasy. We often got back to the hotel after the shuttle was running, but we never had any issues. You do walk by a few gas stations and an arcade/paintball place, so the walk isn't completely desolate. For adults or adults with teens, it is a fine locations. If you have to tote lsmall kids around, I'd consider somewhere else.

NOTE: You will find it almost impossible to flag down a cab in that area around the train and hotel. I hardly saw any the entire time there. We lucked out and grabbed a cab that was dropping someone off from the airport, other than that you will have to have the front desk arrange a car service. On the ride back to the airport, the cabbie said that cabs don't like to come to the area. In the past (5 years ago +), it was not necessarily a safe area, plus, its a bit out of the way for them. Saying that, the #7 train is great and quick. Goes right to Grand Central and Times Square. You can get anywhere in the city from those locations. Its not the nicest looking station or area but if you can look past it and keep your wits about you, its fine enough.

Overall, I thought it was great value. We paid around $160 to $200 a night. Not too shabby considering hotels in Manhattan are close to $350-$400 for a smaller room and probably not as nice as a property.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room Quiet and a bit of a view of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    150
    56
    14
    16
See reviews for
108
110
28
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We just stayed at this location for a stay in Manhattan over the Thanksgiving holiday and it was just fantastic!!! The breakfast was hot and delicious each morning and it saved us time and money. The shuttle to the subway was quick and covenient and they were there to pick us up each night right on time. The subway is only 10 minutes from the hotel and once you are on the train you can be in Grand Central within 15 minutes(#7 train). The staff was great, the experience was excellent. I would highly recomend staying here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If this is your first trip.. or a dream trip to New York... this is probably NOT where you want to stay. BUT, if you're a New York regular looking for a clean modern hotel, great value vs Manhattan pricing yet only a short ride FROM the city on the 7 train, this may be perfect for you. It was for us. The property itself was spotless, breakfast adequate, and the staff courteous and helpful..particularly the shuttle drivers who you'll depend on for the short ride to the 33rd street station (Note: this is a two flights walk up no elevator station, so pack light.) Should you want, there are several charming restaurants near the 40th street station (we loved Bucharest Cafe) or a quick ride away on the 7 train there's the food court in flushing at New World Mall for asian food of every stripe, or spectacular Cuban food at Rincon Criollo at Junction Blvd (featured on Guy Fietti's Dienrs Drive ins and Dives). If you're a Marriott rewards member using points or certificates, this is a Category 5 property, whereas in City starts at cat 7 (we used fall promo cat 5 certificates). It's NOT the right property for everyone.. but if it fits the bill for your travel style, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great place to stay. Our hotel room offered a fabulous view of the NYC skyline. Staff were courteous and very helpful. Shuttle service to the nearby 33rd St./Rawson Station was convenient (#7 line from there takes you right in to Manhattan) and the driver was extremely helpful. Shuttle pickup was available as late as 10.45pm - really useful considering the hotel is located in a bit of an industrial-type area and it's probably not the best experience to walk from the station. This was the best experience we've had staying in the NYC area. Will definitely look this place up next time we're in town.

Room Tip: Look for a high floor for great views of New York City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel during our New York trip. We chose this hotel as it was within our budget and also belonged to the Marriott brand. We were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious ( by NYC standards) and clean. We chose a room on the 10th floor ( based on TripAdvisor reviews we had read!) and our room had the most amazing view of Manhattan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served complimentary and comprised of fresh fruits, cereals, bread, eggs, bacon, waffles, milk, yogurt, juice etc. Only issue is the location. The hotel is located in an industrial neighborhood and gets lonely at night. But it appears to be safe. To counter this location challenge, the hotel organises pick-up and drop facilities to the nearest subway station ( 33rd and Rawson St) every half an hour. This facility was very convenient for us and we had no problem commuting as we were on a vacation and had no time constraints. Please note that the last shuttle is at 10.30 pm and if one has to get back to the hotel after that, one would have to hail a cab.Although there are no restaurants around the hotel, take away menus are available at the reception. Plus, the shuttle facility can also be used to go to the 44th street where many restaurants are located. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on a NYC sightseeing tour. The hotel's greatest asset is their top notch staff. The check in staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The breakfast staff was also very nice. We enjoyed the free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby and the free breakfast. The waffle machine was out one morning but not the other morning and when it was out, it was not working properly. It appeared that the handle was broken. That seemed substandard to Marriott standards but the breakfast lady was trying to help make it work well enough to make waffles. Otherwise, the breakfast was well stocked and attended to and had a nice variety of foods. The room was very standard Fairfield Inn. It had a nice tv, comfortable bed, properly working temperature controls and good shower so we were pleased. It did not look very new or updated but it was fine for our purposes. We enjoyed the free shuttle to the subway and had a very nice and helpful driver both ways. Beware that on the weekends they change the subway trains that run and this time, it affected the one that ran to the station this hotel is closest to so we had to adjust for that by going to another line and transferring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel was not too far from Manhattan and also close to Flushing Meadows which was good for us because we came for the tennis. The hotel's location was not ideal because we had to rely on a shuttle bus to take us to and from the subway station. The shuttle was not all night so one needs to think ahead as to when to get back.

The breakfast offered was nice and varied and the staff at the hotel were friendly.

The room was fine although the bathroom was small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The bed was comfy and met our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.