We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a great value with easy access to NYC, then this is a great place to stay. The rooms were small, but very comfortable. The complementary breakfast was delicious and included a variety of hot and cold items (eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, fruit and bagels/breads). We also loved the free shuttle to and from the subway.

The hotel is in a warehouse district, but don't let this deter you. The area felt very safe and the street noise was very minus all. They do have a small parking lot and a few spots in and underground garage.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, a great place to stay for tourists on a budget!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    149
    55
    14
    15
See reviews for
107
107
28
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
University park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent a one-night stay here using one of my free-night certificates due to its ridiculous high price. Breakfast was good and the room space was acceptable. Parking lot was really small, so I believe that most customers had to park their cars along street sides. And of course, it's impossible to see manhattan view via your windows :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights Oct 13; great breakfast, good room, all nice and relaxed. Hotel provided Bus to and from subway and also local restaurants, which was very convenient.

All in all recommended. A good value option in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are routine Marriott guests, and love knowing what we can expect at Marriott hotels. Fairfield is one of their lower category hotels, and thus it might not have all of the perks as a higher-grade Marriott does. But this Fairfield, true to its class, was great. Nice staff. Free breakfast, with a decent assortment. Our 3rd floor room, although missing the "Manhattan View" had a jacuzzi tub... perfect after long days walking in the city. Provides a complimentary shuttle every 30 minutes to the Subway. The closest subway station is a 20 minute walk (we walked it 3 times during our stay at 11:00pm at night after missing the last shuttle and it was fine). It would appear to be in a not good part of town, but it's really just industrial and we saw no one on the streets while we were walking. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are currently staying at the Fairfield Inn and have been impressed with the high level of service and professionalism displayed by the staff here. After having stayed one night out of our five nights they changed us to a view room without any hassle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

advantages:
1. free breakfast is good, with enough variety (milk, yogurt, bread, fruit, drinks, etc.), though not super.
2. free small parking space (tough to find parking in metropolitan city);
3. free shuttle to subway station.
disadvantages:
1. (2 double bed) room small -- very common in big cities such as Boston, DC. but this hotel is not in manhattan but in queens and it's smaller than any of the downtown DC and Boston hotels' 2 double bed room size i have ever stayed (at least 10 different hotels). so, i feel it a disadvantage.
2. location seems unsafe in the evening, though i am not quite sure, because of its neighborhood.
3. the worst issue is, it was category 4 hotel but raised to category 5 hotel. i see no point to lift its category. why do i bother to spend 25K points in here? too expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here during the summer. Very affordable and comfortable. Had nice breakfast. SOme may say the location is not that great but it's as close as you can get to the city. It's also a few blocks away from my old neighborhood in queens. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.