We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel near NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Vatican City, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice hotel near NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel near NYC about 20 minutes through underground stop at the 33rd Street and Rawson station in Queens. The hotel was clean and reliable with wifi service in the room. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    142
    51
    14
    14
See reviews for
100
104
27
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I was pleased with the hotel itself. It is a decent drive into the city but not bad to save some money. It took a while to get my room and when I did it had no towels or toiletries. Not to mention no trash can. Front desk staff nice with good restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We had some issues with this place. The room was clean, the staff were friendly enough and the wifi was reasonable. Despite this, I think for the price, you may find somewhere better.

We had an issue with lost baggage, which was handled poorly by front staff. One lady at reception denied twice that a bag had been delivered the night before and even after checking out the back, still failed to see our bag. We had to call united (the same lady seemed initially reluctant to let me use their phone at reception phone as the hotel phones were down for >48hrs) and then wait on hold until eventually they tracked down the delivery company, who confirmed the bag had been delivered. It was only then that the lady went out the back and found it sitting there the whole time...fail.

Another minor issue is that the breakfast area doesn't have enough seating.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I visited NYC in March 2013, and stayed in this hotel for several reasons.

1. The price was great, especially when compared to other hotels in the area.
2. It was a Marriott, and they tend to be good hotels.
3. They had a free shuttle service to the nearest subway station.

This hotel had the best customer service I have ever received. First, we walked in the door, and told the guy at the front desk that we were from Alabama and my wife had never been to NYC. He instantly gave us the top floor with a view of Manhattan. Amazing view! Now yes, the room was a little small, but we weren't there for the hotel...we were there to see the city. Secondly, the shuttle service could not have been better. The drivers were very kind, and gave us ideas, directions, and feedback on stuff to do in the city.

We were absolutely blown away by how great our hotel stay was, and we WILL stay here again if we return to NYC. Best hotel experience of both of our lives.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the upper floors with a view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Inn L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful stay at the Fairfied Inn LIC Manhattan View. We did share with our staff about your comments and please come back and see us again in a near future.

Kindest Regards,
Wilka Jones
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

my husband and i stayed in this hotel. it was clean and decent enough, although the room was too small. i love the king size bed and it was smoke free!!!! which is the part that i love. free complimentary breakfast until 11am was really nice... all freshly made. i will def use their facility again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here with colleague for one night and one night was enough, colleague made complaint and was inform that hotel is full and was told by management to leave without refund if room is not good enough. The hallway smelled, the sheets were stained in but not only one but two rooms. Paint would peel from bathrooms door, and from wall plaster. Very much noise from the street even on a high floor, and very small rooms, but to be expected in nyc metropolitan areas if on budget accommodations.

Room Tip: Try not to face traffic, but absolutely avoid if possible there are much better place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After spending hours on the web looking for an inexpensive hotel in Manhattan (ha!), we settled on this one. Got a great rate the night before ($125) for a double room (2 double beds). The hotel is very clean, modern. No frills, but who needs these, when you're spending all day in Manhattan. The staff are very friendly. There is a free shuttle to/from the subway stop for #7 train, which takes you right to Times Square. (30 minutes door to door from the hotel to Times Square, $2.50/trip). Continental breakfast is fine (standard fare, waffles, scrambled eggs, decent coffee). There is a 24 hour restaurant nearby, with a wide selection of food, and free delivery to the hotel. (There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel.) There is free parking, on street and in an underground garage. (Note, however, that the garage is very small, only about 10 cars, and the fit is very tight. If you have a minivan, you better be a great driver to get in and out.) Highly recommended if you don't feel like dropping $300 or more on a mid-town hotel. (Also, if you are coming or heading to JFK, note that It's only 9 miles, but beware of traffic - even on weekends. Could take an hour and a half.)

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view of the Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.