We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for somebody on a budget that wants to visit Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for somebody on a budget that wants to visit Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just finished a stay here on a family vacation to NYC. Most of our trip revolved around Manhattan, but we didn't want to pay Manhattan prices and opted to stay at the Fairfield Inn - Long Island City.

LOCATION
The hotel is about a 10 minute subway ride to Times Square. The subway station (33rd St on the 7 line) is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel or you can opt to use a free shuttle offered by the hotel. From my room I had a great view of the NYC skyline, which was pretty nice. All of that, and parking at the hotel was free, so that also saved $15 - 20 per night.

ROOMS
The rooms are a decent size by NYC standards. My room had two queen beds. One bed was against the wall (nearest to the window) and the other had about a foot of space between the bed and the wall. There was about 4 feet between beds. The bathroom was actually quite large. In short, the room is far from being large, but there is certainly enough space to comfortably hang out after a long day of work or sight seeing.

BREAKFAST
This hotel possibly has the best breakfast I've had at a Fairfield Inn. In my experience, a Fairfield normally has a variety of Jimmy Dean sandwiches and a waffle iron. Here, they had pancake, bacon, sausage, and cheese omelets in addition to the pastries and fruit you would expect. The staff worked pretty hard and kept the foot fully stocked at all times. It was a great way to start off the day.

FITNESS CENTER
The have two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a bike in the fitness room. All of the equipment was LifeFitness and in good working order. The treadmills each had their own TV with cable, which is a big plus for me.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the hotel. The rooms was nice and clean and the staff never did anything to put me off. The location is great and this hotel offers a wonderful value for budget travelers coming to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    180
    63
    19
    20
See reviews for
137
120
31
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn for a trip to NYC after getting free nights from Marriott. The hotel itself was great... had clean rooms and free hot breakfast in the mornings. The nearest subway stop is about a mile down the road and they have shuttle service that runs every half hour until 10:45pm. The staff was very helpful and arranged for transportation when we needed it.
The biggest negative was the general location. It is in a bit of a rough neighborhood and too far outside of the city. It was an ordeal to get in and out of the city (especially getting a cab at night to take us back to Long Island City). In the future, I would splurge for a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a great experience at the Fairfield! Room was nice, great view and the front desk was super helpful every time we needed anything. Way better than expected for the discounted price we paid. The irish pub around the corner is excellent as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIOCH
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I had wonderful stay from Saturday March 16 to March 20. The views from our room (1210) were breath taking and access to the subway was easy, it was provided by the hotel shuttle service which was a great ( 6 am- 10:45 pm ) .The drivers were very knowledgeable of the area to include Manhattan and all of them were nice and friendly.We were driven to a local restaurant and promptly picked up when were done, again this is a great service. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very good and plentiful.This hotel for the price with the location( close to Manhattan), great shuttle service, cleanliness, free breakfast, Starbucks coffee served all day,views of Manhattan,attentive staff is a great choice for anyone values there dollar. Because everyone knows how costly it can be to visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and view of NYC skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Only there one night, but we returned because we had a good experience there before. Handy location if you're driving, right near the Queens Midtown tunnel into Manhattan. Staff was very nice. The ADA room with 2 double beds doesn't really have space for a wheelchair near the beds, but they came up right away and moved some furniture to make more space. The breakfast was well stocked with a variety of foods - should be enough to satisfy most people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

the fairfield inn was very nice and comfy. the hotel staff was nice and attentive. the room was a bit small but boy was the bed comfortable and the room was CLEAN... the city view that i had really wasnt a veiw but the comfort of the hotel made up for it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEPEW
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel and rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel offered a shuttle service to the subway station which was very handy. Parking was very limited on site but we found parking on the street right near the hotel. The neighborhood is not the cleanest but it is no reflection on the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#11 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.