We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off 4 Nigths
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Folsom CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we first arrived for a 7 night stay, I was concerned that the area I which the hotel was located was in an area of warehouses. I was very happy to find out, the hotel offered a shuttle to the subway, with pick up return service when you call the hotel. The staff could not have been more pleasant. The room itself was large and comfortable. We had a great view of Manhatten. The breakfast was great. Hot eggs and sausage every morning! I wish I had that luxery at home! This hotel is a great option for travelers trying to get more space and ammenities than you would find in a downtown hotel. Great place to base our busy sightseeing fillled days. I look forwrd to the day when I can return to New York and the Fairfield Inn. Thanks to the staff at the hotel who made my stay a very exciting and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    153
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
110
113
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have mixed feelings about The Fairfield Inn Long Island City Manhattan View. Our stay was about 10 nights and we booked after speaking to the sales manager who was very friendly, assuring us that she would make special accommodations so that a secured spot would always be reserved for our company oversized vehicle. While the hotel was well-kept, clean and designed with the modern look of newer Fairfield Inns, it was a little frustrating that each night, we had an issue securing the promised parking spot. While the staff seemed genuinely friendly and wanted to accommodate us, they just could not seem to get communicating together between the morning shift (when we would usually take the car out) and the evening shift (when we would return after work). Additionally, the location is not much to be desired. While there are very friendly shuttle staff that will take you to the 7 train or anywhere within a mile of the hotel every half hour, the area itself is not to be desired. A warehouse district, there are few (if any) restaurants within that mile visitors would want to visit if they were looking for that authentic, yet classy New York experience. The 'Manhattan View' is a distant one and can only be seen from the upper floors that happen to be facing that side of the building. Breakfast was great and a nice surprise. Not every Fairfield offers hot food options such as eggs and a waffle-maker, but this one did. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to spend most of their days and nights in the city and looking for a nice, much less expensive hotel simply for sleep and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

After all flights from La Guardia to Atlanta were canceled due to weather, my friends and I (who had just endured a 10 hour transatlantic flight) found ourselves with no option other that to stay in New York and try to leave the next day. La Guardia area hotels were completely booked, so it was just by chance that we found the Fairfield Long Island City. Starving and completely bedraggled, the three of us get to the hotel to discover that the only room left was a King, and they do not offer roll-aways. Not to worry, manager Edgar Santiago completely came to our rescue! He was able to determine that a previously booked double room was available, and happily transferred us over. One of his lovely staff members brought us bottles of water, and when they heard how hungry we were, shared the pizza they had ordered for the office! Everything they did for us was done with courtesy and a smile, and I can't thank them enough for helping three stranded travelers. The room was very clean and comfortable, with updated bedding and furnishings and coffee maker. The hotel is located in a bleak looking neighborhood, but there are many local eateries that deliver to the hotel (including wine!) Again, a huge "thank you!" to Edgar and his staff. And might I add that while they were tending to us they were also managing several large tour buses that had just pulled in!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Here's the bad stuff: bad and scary location, with too few spaces to park Teeny-tiny room. Ridiculous breakfast, with not enough chairs and tables to sit. We actually sat outside on the patio. with a magnificent view of a tractor trailer unloading and enough diesel fumes to choke a horse. We were told to honk our car horn to have the front desk raise the metal indoor parking barrier. We honked away each night-no reaction by staff. So we called the front desk by cell and they let us in, only to find the small lot was always full, and not enough room to turn our mid size rental car around. It took about 30 moves per night and we'd simply park on a dark and deserted street nearby--creepy. No foam pillows' although we asked repeatedly. I also think the old hair dryer is going to electrocute the next guest. We mentioned all this to the front desk and were met with blank stares bordering on semi-comatose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

You are not in the heart of the action, but you are not in a dump too. It cost approx 15$ if you take a cab from Time Square to the hotel and it is a 15 minutes walk to the subway.

The rooms are a bit small, but it is okay, clean, the breakfast is okay. It is a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn Long Island City for your lodging needs. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. The hotel is very convenient to the subway for travel around the Long Island City area or into Manhattan. As you mentioned we are located 0.6 miles (16 minutes walk) from the 33rd St – Rawson Street # 7 Subway station. There are several options when it comes to getting around Long Island City and into Manhattan. Rental cars are available nearby. Taking our shuttle to Vernon Boulevard – The residential heart of Long Island City.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to seen you soon.

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights while my parents visited NYC, and experience was fantastic. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous, and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms were comfortable to stay in, and the amenities (free internet, breakfast, gym and half-hourly shuttle to the subway) were absolutely fabulous for the price of the hotel. While the hotel is definitely in a comparatively remote area, the hotel provides shuttle to a nearby 7-station every 30 minutes. And if you arrived at the metro earlier than expected (which happened to us more than once!), the driver would come pick you up anyway irrespective of the time! A special thank you to Ali, their shuttle driver, for being very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Bottomline: I would definitely stay there if I visited again, and would highly recommend it to anyone planning to do the same!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing the Fairfield Inn Marriott Long Island City for your lodging needs. We appreciate your comments about our staff (specifically about Ali), rooms, breakfast, and amenities.. Our staff takes great pride for the service they do and I will make sure to share your feedback with them.
Thanks again for your review and look forward to serving you in the near future.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We drove our rented car from JFK airport. The hotel signage is broken, so there is no indication in this obviously industrial area, where the hotel is, despite the fact that our phone navigator kept saying we had reached our destination.
Room, just big enough to hold a king sized bed. No dresser to put clothing in and a "closet" contain an iron, ironing board and two of my husband's shirts...that was total capacity. One cannot stand at the bathroom sink with the bathroom door open, room too small. Air conditioner leaks water onto carpet beside the bed, cannot walk around wet carpet...no room. Breakfast a joke. Corn dogs seem to be the main entree. Toaster or waffle maker not working. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn Marriott in Long Island City. At Marriott we take great pride for the service we provide. Knowing that we fell short in meeting your expectations is a disappointment. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered in finding the hotel, with the size of your room and with the breakfast options. My engineer and I walk the property on a daily basis and haven’t noticed the hotel signage is broken. I would like for you to contact me so that I can get more details in order to rectify this matter. As far as your comment about breakfast, we offer a continental breakfast serving: assorted cereals, regular and silk milk, instant oatmeal, fresh fruits, scramble eggs, jimmy dean sausages, juices and coffee.

Thanks again for your review and look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Omar Aquino

General Manager
718-406-0152
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.