We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great NYC visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visited NYC with 5 adults and booked 2 rooms at the Fairfield Inn. Checkin was easy, and the staff was accommodating. We requested city view rooms on a higher level and the rooms side by side and got exactly that.

Rooms were small but very clean. Great view of the skyline. Shuttle to/from subway left every half hour and always picked us up when called within 10 minutes. We even arrived later in the night and felt safe.

Garage parking is free and secure. Breakfast was included, bagels, muffins, fruit, waffle maker, etc.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for high room and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for writing this nice review of our hotel, amenities, and the staff. It was a gerat pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Long Island City and the NYC area.

Thanks!

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    149
    53
    15
    14
See reviews for
98
104
27
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I just had a wonderful 2 night stay here on our trip to NYC. We got a complimentary upgrade to a jacuzzi room from having Elite Marriot Rewards status, and got treated very well by the staff. The hotel was built recently, so everything was nice, clean and modern. LG flat screens in the room, nice big jacuzzi, marble in the bathroom, decent view of the Manhattan skyline, great breakfast. The shuttle ran often and made getting in and out of Manhattan very quick+easy. A 2 minute shuttle ride, and 12 minute subway ride took us right to Times Square. NYC subways run 24 hours a day, so we were able to go wherever we wanted and stay out late. Even though this stay was free with my credit card rewards, I will definetely return here, regardless of whether it was a free stay or not.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

WOW! Thank you for the nice review. We certainly appreciate the nice things you mentioned about our hotel, amenities, and location. We thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs!

We take great pride for the service we provide and are pleased your stay was enjoyable as expected and that you liked the upgrade to a Jacuzzi room.

Your business and loyalty to Marriott is greatly appreciated! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to the NYC and Long Island City area.

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

You get way more than you pay for here. Customer service was outstanding. The general manager Omar came out his office and helped check us in. The rest of the staff was wonderful as well. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise.

Room was clean. The location is a hike from the subway, but the hotel's shuttle service runs all the time from the 7 train, making it super easy to get in and out of midtown Manhattan. Continental breakfast was above average.

The only downside here and I hate to say it, the comforter on the bed was by far the thinnest comforter I've ever seen on a hotel bed. Not up to par, but certainly nothing that took away from an overall fantastic stay.

A great option for those who don't want to pay an arm and a leg for a hotel in Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel and staff. Your kind words are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing, serving and surprising you again when you return to the NYC and Long Island City area.

Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn Longs Island City for your lodging needs!

Regards,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston,nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here as part of the wedding party. The staff could not have been more accommodating, from arranging for shuttles to the wedding venue, to allowing us to host a small pizza party in the breakfast room as guests arrived the night before.
The rooms were immaculate and well equipped, and the staff very pleasant and courteous. The buffet breakfast was very bountiful and generous as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on great guest service and our staff is always available to assist and be ready with a warm welcome.
I personally remember your group and it was a great pleasure taking care of your needs. Congratulations again!

We look forward to seeing you when you visit the NYC area again.


Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Don't let the location fool you...this hotel is great! Located in a unique area that's industrial on one side of the street and a neighborhood reminiscient of Happy Days on the other, it boasts a fantastic Mahhattan view. With an in-your-face view of the Empire State Building from my window, I quickly forgot that I was outside of the city! The hotel is relatively new, clean and a friendly staff who aim to please. Our room was average size (NYC standard), comfortable bed and the hotel lived up to the Marriott brand. We parked our car and did not drive it the entire time. A shuttle ran frequently to the subway (a few blocks away) and its an easy ride to Times Square. They'll also shuttle you to certain local restaurants if you ask. The only problem we encountered was getting a cab at night but the hotel staff were helpful. The hotel offers a small business area, stuffed chairs & tv in the lobby and dining area which serves breakfast (muffins, cereal, fruit) adequate to get your day started. If you want an alternative to staying in the heart of Manhattan, this is truly a hidden gem worth checking out. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - Manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words about our hotel and location. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margem Sul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've staied in this hotel on March 2011. Everything clean, nice people, profissionals and very friendly. Everything went perfect, from the second I booked, until the moment I had to come back to Portugal.
I'm hoping to go again December this year, if possible and available.
My best to you all at the Fairfield Inn Long Island Queens...
Hope to see you this year...
Cheers from Portugal

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of our hotel. It was pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit back in March – We missed you! And we look forward to seeing you again in December.

Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Cheers from the beautiful Long Island City!

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hotel had continetal breakfast which was fantastic before starting your day in NYC. Hotel also had free wi-fi, 2 computers and a printer to look up information, and a shuttle that runs every 30 mins to and from the subway station. Staff was very friendly, and helpful. Rooms were small, but really nice and clean. We arrived late every night and left early so room size was perfect for what we were using it for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We pride ourselves on the great service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my staff all the nice things you mentioned. We are pleased that you found us and look forward to seeing on your next visit to the NYC and Long Island City area.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.