We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Many times here never a let down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Waldorf, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stayed Many times here never a let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I’ve stayed at Fairfield Inn, Queens New York (Long Island City) a number of times. I can tell you that this place is a gem! If you don’t mind a little leg work, and budget minded hotels this is the place for you.

I’ts located in the city, but far enough away you are not paying the downtown prices. Parking is free, and they have a complimentary breakfast, and a shuttle service to the subway # 7 Trains will take you right to the heart of Times Square without switching trains.

The rooms are a little on the small side, but this is NYC. The rooms are CLEAN, the staff is very helpful. They appear to be right on top of maintenance issues, while I was there, one of the elevators went out of service in the evening, but the next morning it was up and running. The lobby is staffed with knowledgeable people about the city, the sites and attractions, and freely give their personal tips and advice, some of which saved us $$$.

If you are looking for grander in NYC then don’t look here, this is a plain building, in the middle of what appears an industrial section with warehouses all around. But in this you will find great value and great service.

I will be back..Keep up the good work, and Thank You for a job well done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest;


Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City. Thank you for your feedback, kind words, and for your continue business. We appreciate your loyalty.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    144
    51
    14
    14
See reviews for
101
105
27
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pontoon beach, il
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

All in all great stay! Rooms are tiny! Think "cruise ship" but really no problems! Staff is great! Thanks Estephanie( ?) and Nina! Everyone asks if you need or want anything. Breakfast selections are good unless overloaded by a busload of kids! Frequent shuttles to the trains and lots of suggestions for meals. Driver offers trips to restaurants by train station. Trains schedule changes can be troublesome figuring out how to get back but hey it happens! Suggestions to eat at Bantry Bay - on the money - great food, service! Easy walk and occaisonal "pop -ins" by celebs since Silvercup studios is so close! Fun! We brought coolers and snacks in to share with the family in the evening Had a ball! Beer in hotel Market was a plus!

Room Tip: Ask for high rooms on Manhattan side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your review and kind words. At the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Long Island City we take great pride for the service we provide. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at my hotel. I will be sure to pass to Estefani, Nina and the rest of the staff your feedback. As you mentioned the Irish Pub - Bantry Bay is a great place to visit while in Long Island City and is located at walking distance form the hotel.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Please aske for me next time you stay with us and allow me to introduce myself.

Thanks,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed 11/17/11

Location: .60 miles from the 33rd st. Subway Stop. Took 20-30mins to walk from subway to hotel. There is a hotel shuttle that will pick you up from subway (but that takes 20-30mins - so i walked). There are not to many taxis and buses in this area as its farther south LIC.
The hotel does offer a 30min rounding shuttle from hotel to subway during the day.

Food: Hotel offered 7 menus for places that delivered til 11pm. There are a few places to walk to, but after a 30min walk I passed on that.
Breakfast was good, many options

Room: One King Suite
Large Super Clean and newer room. Cant ask for anything better as far as cleanliness

Price: Booked on points.

Cons:
1 Hour subway to bus to LGA airport
Although the hotel is newer, the distance to public transportation is a big downfall. You must plan an extra 30-40min to start your day. If I had more time to plan out a day I would stay here again. But since there are not many places to walk to for food and trans I would pick another place first for convenience.

Room Tip: Call ahead for a shuttle pickup if you are coming in on the 7 @ 33rd St
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
I’m glad you are pleased with the cleanliness and size of our rooms and our free deluxe continental breakfast.
The hotel is very convenient to the subway for travel around the Long Island City area or into Manhattan. As you mentioned we are located 0.6 miles (16 minutes walk) from the 33rd St – Rawson Street # 7 Subway station. There are several options when it comes to getting around Long Island City and into Manhattan. Rental cars are available nearby. Taking our shuttle to Vernon Boulevard – The residential heart of Long Island City. Our front desk staff could call a car service for your transportation needs at any time. As far as yellow cabs, the city of New York does not have a direct telephone number to call for a yellow cab. The only way to get a taxi is to take our shuttle to Queens Boulevard and flag them down from the street. Our guests take advantage of the free transportation we offer to any restaurants, shops, bars, and attractions in the local area. Plenty of options to choose.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to seen you soon.

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

the hotel is located in a really bad neighborhood, with no shops or anything around. In order to get anywhere you need to wait for a ride from a special driver and even that is available only at certain hours. if you choose to use the subway and wish to return to the hotel, you will most likely wait 20 minutes for the driver to come and pick you up.

On top of all this, I had a really bad case where the maid threw away my retainers which I left inside a glass and the hotel did not take any responsibility over the matter. Those retainers cost me 790$ !!!!

I would never ever go there again! You have been warned...

Room Tip: Don't stay there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Long Island City Manhattan View. We are minutes away from the center of Long Island City – Vernon Boulevard – The residential heart. Vernon Boulevard is lined with restaurants, bars, and small shops. We are at walking distance from a great Irish Pub (Bantry Bay) our guest love it. We are very convenient to the subway for travel around the Long Island City area or into Manhattan. In addition, our guests take advantage of the free transportation we offer to any restaurants, shops, bars, and attractions in the local area and to the #7 train station 33rd Street & Rawson.
The hotel provides each guest room with an in-room safe for the guest convenience and security.

Again, I thank you for your review and look forward to hosting your next trip to Long Island City NY.

Thanks,
Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We've stayed for a week in this hotel.
The location is not great - an industrial area in Queens, around 10-15 min walk from 2 subway stations (33 Rawson and Queensboro Plaza). However it did feel safe to walk even in the evenings. By taking the number 7 train you can be in Times Square in around 10 min. there you can change for almost all destinations in NY. You can also take the Q/N/R trains at Queensboro/Queens Plaza and arrive in Lower Manhattan in around 20 min without changing the train. The shuttle service was very good. Almost all the time the shuttle was waiting when returning in the evening (without the need of calling)...the driver will always wait for the last round the train at 11pm. This is very nice after a long day of walking...
The rooms were clean and very comfortable, though rather on the small side. It was nice to see Manhattan from the window in the evening. The rooms were cleaned everyday. A bit on the downside was that you cannot open the windows (security related, of course), so if you are not a big fan of the airco....
The breakfast was simple but good enough: several types of cereals, bagels, spread cheese, one or two sorts of jam, boiled eggs (though they were finishing quite fast), muffins, yoghurt, fruits, coffee, tea and juice...and sandwitches for the microwave...Sufficient for a good start. It was also nice that coffee and apples were available all the time in the lobby and also for take-away.
All in all, if you can get a good price for the room (which will be in anycase way below a comparable room in Manhattan), you should go for this. We had a good time and we would certainly consider this hotela gain when returning to NY.

Room Tip: A Manhattan view room, preferably above the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here on our recent, last-minute trip to NYC. It was very clean! Great breakfast! There was a shuttle that drove us to the closest subway station that would take us into Manhattan. It worked great except that the last trip was from the subway at 11 pm. We took in a couple of shows. One night the subway came into the station at 11:01. The shuttle had left and would not come back for us. If you want to do anything late in NYC, plan on paying $6 for the taxi ride from the station to the hotel. On our last day there, we called for a shuttle, but it didn't come, didn't come, didn't come. We were afraid we would be late for our flight so we finally got a taxi, raced in to get our suitcases (which they nicely watched for us), and raced to the airport. They messed up on our reservation, reserving two nights instead of the four that we had booked. They were able to fix the problem, but charged us more than we had booked for online. They were able to fix it, but had to wait for a manager to come. They acted like they did us a great big favor by fixing all of these problems. Thankfully, we had a copy of our online reservation. We would stay here again, though, just for the great price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your choosing the Fairfield Inn by Marriott - Manhattan View. Thank you for your review. It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections, when and where need be. I will make sure to address your concerns wiht our team.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing when you return.

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our flight to the west coast was canceled because of the early freak snow storm that grounded much of the northeast. All hotels near JFK were book,but the Marriott folks got us a room in this property. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and kind. The room was more than adequate and the property seems new or newly renovated. We had a good night's sleep and decent free breakfast. Recommend this property for anyone who needs to be in the Brooklyn and Queens area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfairfieldinnlic, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on great guest service and our staff is always available to assist and be ready with a warm welcome.

We look forward to seeing you when you visit the NYC area again.

Thanks,

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.