We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off 4 Nigths
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westlake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our family spent three nights at Fairfield Inn while we visited NYC. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel shuttle ran every half hour as advertised (even making additional runs if there were more people waiting than could fit on the shuttle). The room was bigger than I expected (though we were in a handicap accessible room - so that might have made a difference). Clean room with nice flat screen tv. The free breakfast had very good variety. Overall, the hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    159
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
116
116
30
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Most reviewers here were spot on. This is a great hotel with a friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and ideal location to New York City. Yes there really isn't on-site parking, but there is ample street parking alongside the hotel. We stayed in Room 707 and at night you have a perfect view of the NY skyline including The Empire State Building. We only stayed one evening, but we will be returning to this hotel soon.

Room Tip: We used Priceline and recieved $50 off
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I've become a fan of Long Island City as hotel headquarters for a New York trip. The subway is only 15 minutes away from Times Square and Penn Station. Hotel prices are remarkably less than Manhattan and the Fairfield Inn offers a room that rivals Manhattan name brand hotels for comfort and furnishings. Two big pluses: free breakfast and free internet.

You have to get past the first impressions. It's an industrial-style neighborhood with a highway interchange, auto repair shops, and not much else. But it does not appear to be dangerous and I had no qualms about walking around late at night. The fast subway to Manhattan is somewhat offset by the fairly long trip to the station. The hotel offers free shuttle service every half hour until 11 PM. Otherwise it's about a 6 block walk - and make sure you have studied a map ahead of time.

Once you're there, you're enjoying a near-luxury hotel experience. The Fairfield is modern and clean. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. My stay here was short but my experience was just about perfect. Elevators were fast. The hallways and rooms were quiet and the bed was exceedingly comfortable. The flat screen TV offered free HBO and several HD channels. The free breakfast area featured a large selection of food and free wifi. Rooms had free wired internet but no wifi.

If you want a very nice hotel that saves you $100 a night or more over Manhattan prices, if you don't mind a quick 30 minute trip to get there, and if you can overlook the unglamorous neighborhood, I strongly recommend the Fairfield by Marriott for a New York trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The good things - staff was friendly enough; overall the hotel was clean however the cleaning staff did minimal cleaning in the room, straightened sheets and left new towels (although never enough); The location is adequate, but take note it is a 40 minute ride from the time you leave the hotel on the shuttle until you reach Times Square. Not a bad trip, tho.
The bad things - the internet was down for three days; no cold drinks in the snack purchase area for three days which was a bummer because there was no place close to walk to for water or sodas; Shuttle stops running at 11 pm in the 'city that never sleeps'....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My oldest son and granddaughter live in Brooklyn, so I wanted a clean, safe, affordable yet well located place to stay when I visit them. The Fairfield Inn in Long Island City is all of these things. The "industrial location" does not affect the quality of your stay, in fact it helps; you can find free parking on the street right next to the hotel. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the subway and to the nearby restaurants in the Williamsburg section. The rooms are small, but a good size to sleep, shower and get dressed. Do you intend to host a party in your hotel room? Remember the hotel room price is driven by the room size and location; want to be off Broadway and have a spacious room, be prepared to pay at least twice the price of the Fairfield Inn, LongIsland City.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Next time I return to NYC, I will stay at the Fairfield Inn, Long Island City. I stay with Marriott all the time, so when I checked in, I asked to be upgraded. The first night they could not, but for the 4 following nights, they upgraded me to a Jacuzzi King, which was great. It has microwave and fridge, and nice jacuzzi tub with separate shower and big bathroom. The bedroom was also very comfortable, and the bed of course, was Marriott quality.

If you're going to stay at this hotel with a significant other, I would suggest upgrading to this room, as the regular king rooms are TINY (but clean). The breakfast is great, and the shuttle service picks you up and drops you off at the 33rd and Queens subway stop, which is about 20-30 minute ride from the city. Way worth it for the price (I paid $139 pre-paid rate versus 250-300 for a hotel in the city).

The hotel staff was for the most part, very nice, although you're going to get that New York type of staff person...overworked, under-paid, but matter of fact and friendly enough. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for the budget traveler that wants to spend their money on a show or dinner, not a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

As a regular road warrior staying in hotels 75-100 nights per year (on business), mostly at Marriott properties. I have encountered my fair share of issues and I have always read reviews on Trip Advisor before staying at a hotel I am not familiar with to help avoid bad properties. All that said, I wanted to share my experience about my current stay at the Fairfield Inn Long Island City. First of all they have on site parking for all of seven cars. Now if you are on of the lucky seven cars be sure you have good breaks because the parking lot is on a hill. Also you just might get "boxed-in". Those that are not that lucky will need to find "on street parking" across the street from an Oriental trading warehouse that opens up at 5am - good luck with that.

Now I have stayed here before so I know what the challenges were but tonight goes beyond that. Tonight they allowed a t.v. film crew to take over the very small common area of the hotel. What this means is that you could not use the elevator (to go to the lobby or the exercise room) while they were filming - oh yeah forgot to mention, this is a 12 story hotel! Also, went outside to put something in my vehicle and the t.v. crew told me I had to wait outside on the sidewalk until they were done shooting!!!! The front desk clerk was also outside and I asked him if there was a manager on duty - he said he went home for the night.

Well needless to say I won't be back to this property again and I will be sure to let everyone know why - that's why I joined Trip Advisor tonight as in right now!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Address: 52-34 Van Dam Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•On-site parking, fee: 25 USD daily •Very limited (25) parking spaces available, first come first serve basis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Queens Hotel Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Long Island City
Fairfield Inn Queens
Long Island City Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York Long Island City/Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.