We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Ravel on a Saturday in July. We got a parking spot at the hotel and parked there for 2 full days for free, including before we checked in and after we checked out!!! The staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful! When we got there, they upgraded our room to a suite for no charge without us even asking! The room was clean and huge! The walk to the subway was about 15 minutes but there was a free shuttle that runs every half hour until 11 pm. We did find the neighbourhood a bit run down but it was not scary and we felt safe even walking at night. We did go to the Penthouse 808 restaurant. We had a Living Social deal, $30 for $79 worth of food. Our food was great but the loud music made it difficult to hold a conversation. It had more of a party atmosphere than the romantic atmosphere that we were seeking. Upon departure, the front desk staff were very helpful in giving us Google Directions to get out of the city. We thought all of the staff were fantastic and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are quieter due to the rooftop night club but lower rooms don't have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    167
    90
    72
    88
See reviews for
80
258
33
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

At first . I walked in its nice for the surrounding neighborhood. Just about 4 - 5 blocks away you have housing,other words THE PROJECTS on a dead street .parking very small. Room good No issues. Food from room service in hotel. OK. Menu prices not accurate, Excuse was sorry Sushi not good. Situation.woke up had flat called insurance to come fix it. around 11am. It was a storm outside .11am receptionist called to leave . i explained they said ok ..12pm they called i told them tow truck not here yet . they said ok . finally around 230pm all was done ,went to check out . Was charged $75.00 . they said its policy and all hotels do it . I have been all over, in every type of hotels, actually I travel for work . About 10 days per month I'm in a hotel .Only the small cheesy hotels are knocking on your door . and waiting for you to get out , but never charge you. They did not explain on the phone they will charge All they said ok . All hotels have that policy , but they don't enforce it. After a snow storm and flat tire they charge , WOW , WOW oh WOW. Thats greed . have some sympathy . Manager and receptionist agreed to charge . I left and decided not to board there anymore . So they can keep those $75.00 and use it on better employment . i had to explain in short term because they don't allow it here to be that long . Thannks .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose to stay at Ravel for our mini moon night after our wedding on the way back home. The views and balcony from the room were excellent and this is probably what we loved about it the most. Disappointed at how run down the hotel was since they consider themselves to be a "Boutique" and trendy hotel. The chair in our room was dirty and had a hole in it and there was also a hole in the wall as if someone had punched it. The rooftop was beautiful and the restaurant had good food but the loud club like music on a Sunday Night wasn't for me. They were having some party until 3am and we stayed on the 4th floor and could still here the loud bass...Thurs Fri or Sat night this wouldn't have bothered me but come on...a Sunday? Also we had told the front desk it was our mini moon night and the restaurant and we got no little perks...overall disappointed

Room Tip: choose lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was expensive and very noisy. There is a club up on the penthouse that plays techno until 4:00 a.m. The hallway to our room on the third floor smelled of cat piss cigarette smoke and leftover food. I had to cover my nose walking in. The maid saw and sprayed Lysol which slightly helped. Also the next day it seemed that they cleaned the hallway carpet as it smelled better. The shower that they explain as being "spa like" well I guess you could say that if showering under a tiny shower head with low water pressure is "spa like". The room was clean and the location is convenient. The breakfast buffet was terrible cold eggs and crappy coffee for nine dollars a pop. Also only free wifi is in the lobby otherwise there is a charge for in room wifi. I do not recommend. Not a good fit for us.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was there with some friends a Saturday night and the place was so good, amazing view from the club, good service and good music. Beautiful place in general. I had so much fun that I recommend that place 99% . We had a bottle of vodka and wasn't expensive.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was fab. The staff were friendly, very helpful and very welcoming. The room was very large with 2 queen beds in as we had our daughter with us. We had a small balcony which looked across the river to New York City. The bathroom was large with a bath and a seperate shower which was partitioned off with sliding doors. There was a coffee machine, fridge and a TV. It also had heating and air conditioning. The room was cleaned daily also providing fresh sheets on a daily basis. They also had a bus to drop you off and pick you up from the subway or local restraunts.
My only concern was the hotel was quite secluded in an industrial area so on dark night I was a bit nervous walking back I certainly would not have walked it alone but that is just my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Really friendly staff, loved the roof bar with the sushi & the cocktails. The rooms were clean & tidy. A great stop off point from JFK & would recommend to to anyone wanting to do NYC on a budget. Worth every penny! (Or should a say cent)

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.