We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Ravel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Ravel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was fab. The staff were friendly, very helpful and very welcoming. The room was very large with 2 queen beds in as we had our daughter with us. We had a small balcony which looked across the river to New York City. The bathroom was large with a bath and a seperate shower which was partitioned off with sliding doors. There was a coffee machine, fridge and a TV. It also had heating and air conditioning. The room was cleaned daily also providing fresh sheets on a daily basis. They also had a bus to drop you off and pick you up from the subway or local restraunts.
My only concern was the hotel was quite secluded in an industrial area so on dark night I was a bit nervous walking back I certainly would not have walked it alone but that is just my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    158
    82
    64
    78
See reviews for
75
238
29
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Really friendly staff, loved the roof bar with the sushi & the cocktails. The rooms were clean & tidy. A great stop off point from JFK & would recommend to to anyone wanting to do NYC on a budget. Worth every penny! (Or should a say cent)

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Ravel in Long Island City for 3 nights to attend a wedding being held there. On the positive side, the wedding venue on the rooftop was beautiful and the food was very good. The shuttle service to the local area is also well run and convenient. That's about the most positive comments I can make. As for accommodations, we booked a king room with a balcony (their middle tier room). First, the hotel is in an area that is undergoing a gradual gentrification so the immediate vicinity of the hotel is not very inviting. There is little or no parking at the hotel and the parking is in a narrow alley which also serves as the entrance to the hotel. There is no Bellman or other amenities you would expect from a "Hotel". Luggage was self service with only 2 carts for the entire hotel. The room was really badly in need of a facelift. The walls needed painting, the furniture was old and almost all of it was badly damaged. The bathroom area was really strange. There is a glass enclosed toilet that is open at the top so there is little or no privacy. The shower was adequate but both the toilet area and the shower were in serious need of new tile (there was black/rusty looking stuff in all the corners). My wife wore flip-flops to take a shower because the floor looked very suspect. The bathroom sink is very difficult to use as it is mounted sideways to the wall making shaving, tooth brushing, etc. a weird experience. There is no counter space for toiletries, cosmetics, etc. and the cabinet under the sink was an old plywood cabinet that wouldn't open. The bed was good but the TV is another sore point. We were there during the first weekend of the World Cup and about half of the stations (including ABC that was carrying the games) kept losing signal about every thirty seconds. When I called the front desk, I was told it was because there were too many people watching. It was funny that the TV in the lobby was tuned to the Soccer match without any problems. We never did get the TV thing resolved for the whole stay. The staff really didn't seem to care about much except for the Night Club they run on the roof from Friday thru Sunday 11pm to 4am. It is loud (we were on the third floor and could hear and feel it clearly) and attracts several hundred non-hotel guests each night. The 2 elevators are impossible to get during the early part of that time period as there is a long line of people waiting to get into the club from the parking lot each night. I'm sure the club is great for those who enjoy that "scene" and makes a lot of money for the owners but it is not conducive to a peaceful stay at a hotel. All in all, not a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Point
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the ravel and enjoyed my time. I am writing this b/c not enough good review are written. Usually the bored and angry. These guys are great and deserve this great review. Pirchased a romance package had dinner with the city view very good night :-D

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nice big room, helpful staff, great view of Manhattan. A little bit out of public transport but it wasn't a big problem. Since New York is very expensive this was a great deal and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Ravel hotel on 12th-14th of May, we were instantly upgraded upon arrival and were given a room on the ground floor overlooking the bridge. The room was extremely spacious and decorated to a high standard. It was extremely clean especially the bathroom which was lovely! The atmosphere in the hotel was one which was friendly and welcoming. The staff were always on hand to answer questions & the free shuttle was a brilliant extra service.

One of the girls in reception recommended going to blend on the water (Spanish restaurant about 5 mins drive away) which was the nicest meal I've ever had and the view of the sky line is the best you will get.

That same night we returned to the hotel and we asked to go and see the penthouse bar - which was closed as work was being done. Once up here I couldn't believe the views and how lovely it was & to my surprise, my partner got down on one knee and asked me to marry him!! So we actually got engaged at this hotel, therefore it was always be in our memories :) it couldn't have been anymore perfect, thanks Ravel we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a really good time. Slept comfortable and enjoyed the staff. Did have one issue but the front desk staff was very helpful. View is beautiful. I must say they have good service! Very attentive and down to earth. The room was clean and i upgraded to a room on the city side for 30 buck which was definitely worth it. I do recommend and hope to be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.