We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I only selected this hotel because everything in NYC was $100 or more per night. Really cute place... must visit rooftop bar/restaurant because the views are as good as it gets. Room was large, as was bathroom - staff was nice and extra helpful. Not hard to get into city by subway - a 10 min walk to station, or they provide transportation on the hour. Yay!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade, it can't hurt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    151
    74
    57
    73
See reviews for
69
222
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

First beware that the hotel offers no parking and the neighborhood is questionable at best. Dirty and not quaint. The check in was smooth but the front desk was quite rude and stiff. The room was small and the drywall had holes in them. This was a superior deluke room.The room we requested via hotels dot com was to be a room with a view of the nyc skyline. The hotel stated that this was the room we requested and booked which overlooked the 5 car parking lot. A wedding was taking place the same day we checked in and I am sure our room was given away. We are currently still here and cannot wait to check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with a group for a wedding in Brooklyn. We had two days to aside from the wedding which we planned to go into Manhattan and do "touristy stuff". The F train was the closest subway stop to the hotel, and it was about a 10 minute walk away. It seemed like a pretty safe neighborhood to walk around, though there was nothing around. We also had to take a cab to Manhattan once because we were late for something- and this cost about $20. The hotel's rooftop bar, the 808 Club or something, was pretty nice. It had a great view of the City across the East River- and was pretty spectacular at night. The breakfast buffet was also pretty good. Overall, I would recommend staying here. I lived in Brooklyn previously, and my wife is from New Jersey, so we are not exactly tourists in NYC- so we were comfortable walking the streets at night and taking a couple trains to get where we needed. If you are a tourist and looking to be in NYC- just keep in mind this hotel is across the river and there is nothing around it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in LIC with a stunning view of Manhatten from the roof top terrace. The area is industrial and very noisy with traffic right outside but you do get used to it. Its about 6 blocks (10 mins) from the subway it's ok to walk but would feel cautious at night because it is so isolated, the hotel offer a shuttle bus on the hour but always seem a bit off when you call for a pick up. Takes about 15-20 mins to central Manhatten on the subway. On our first night the restaurant was closed due to a wedding, only take away menus were offered as an alternative and nothing really close by to walk to. Same on our last night, which sucked as we'd planned to eat there. Would be good to have some notice in reception so you can plan ahead at least! Room was a nice size, two double beds, very clean and nice complimentary toiletries. Air con was good too. The wifi situation was a bit crap, you can only use it for free down in the lobby but have to pay extortionate rates to use in the room, seems a but backward! The roof top was great and lovely to sit and chill watching the city lights, we only ate breakfast there once, it was good value. As mentioned didn't get to have an evening meal there. Overall a good stay and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here With My Wife When In NYC To See A Concert.LocationWas Good,ShorT Drive To Manhattan,Price Was Very Reasonable,Great Rooftop Bar / Restaurant,LargeRoom,BrilliantViewOfManhattan,Superb Bathroom/Shower

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel was fantastic, very modern inside. Rooms are very spacious with great views of Manhattan, rooftop bar overlooking the skyline. Only downside was the 'nightclub' on the roof that went on until early morning. music could be heard from the rooms. If you dont mind that and/or your partaking in the fun, all well and good, you'll love this place. But if you need to get up early in the morning, not so fun! other than that its a great hotel, would stay there midweek no problem (assuming nightclub is weekend only!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Ravel Hotel is a great hotel to stay at especially for first timers to New York City. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Every time I needed something they were a phone call away and helped me with my every question .My boyfriend and i stayed there 4 nights/5 days including our dog which was great so he could experience a little bit of NYC too.Also a park right across the street for him to play in. We stayed in the penthouse suite which was very nice and had an amazing view also the bed was very comfortable too and the room was pretty spacious. The rooftop Penthouse 808 was great too. The food was great and good prices and the servers was great as well. The bad parts about the hotel was it was not close to any food delivery places or anything else for that matter. But they do have free shuttle every hour to restaurants, subways and shopping places. A city thats close is Astoria which i find was amazing it was full of things to do and place to shop .Another bad part about the Ravel was there was a couple things wrong with the room that happened before i got in there but they must have known cause i was not charged for it. Also the bathroom was a little open so if you like your privacy i would go for another room because the bathtub doesn't have any walls and the toilet and shower had glass walls but you couldn't see thru them.One more bad thing is the minibars is very tempting but only drink and eat the things you have the money for because its well over 200 dollars. For example 6 dollars for a can of soda but the vending machine downstairs lets your get a bottle of soda for 2.50. But overall the hotel was amazing with amazing views and a great staff. Most definitely would stay again and probably will very soon :) MOST AMAZING VIEW EVER!!! (5th floor penthouse suite)

Room Tip: Book in advance for best rooms. 5th floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.