We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would defiantly recommend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would defiantly recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We traveled as a group of 6 adults at the beginning of May/ end of April. We had been recommended to stay in the middle of manhattan but we really liked the contemporary image of the ravel hotel.

We are glad we decided to stay out of the hustle and bustle as it meant we could have a view of New York from our beds! The staff were very helpful and friendly, if there was a problem it was solved without a fuss and quickly (we couldn't open our safe).

The rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was amazing comfortable and we really enjoyed the open plan bathrooms.

The hotel is expanding so there is building work, this isn't a problem as rooms do not overlook it and the building was not noisy at all...so it should not put you off booking.

There is a shuttle bus to the metro stations which we had no problems with and was defiantly better than walking!

Overall we really enjoyed New York and The Ravel Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    155
    76
    62
    76
See reviews for
71
232
28
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The only plus points were the friendly reception ladies and the shuttle service to/from the local subway stations. Our room - although relatively clean - suffered from scruffy furnishings, walls and ceilings and the linen was not changed every day - we had to prompt them to do so. For a hotel that apparently welcomes young families, an inappropriate 'Passion Kit' was included as part of the room's mini bar. The view was nothing like the one depicted on their website: just a very clear vista of a building site, with only a glimpse of the Manhattan skyline off to the right. Communal hallway carpets were filthy and the decor gloomy. Outside, the surroundings resembled rolling construction wastelands, and on one evening two large rats welcomed us back as we entered the driveway. Hotel staff informed us that the rats had come from the construction site next door - which turned out to be their own expansion development. Our general impression was that the hotel is only interested in catering for those in their penthouse suites and patrons of the nightclub [see other reviews for more on that]. Definitely not a location for those with children or anyone who wants to experience a taste of New York City without the gritty bits.

Room Tip: Find a hotel elsewhere; it is worth paying slightly more for a city center location. And definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavelGM, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate any feedback we can get. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with items such as linens and the passion kit. We must comply with all our guest needs and desires so we apologize to you and your family if any offense was taken. Please be sure to advise the front desk agent at any hotel where you stay, of the issues during your stay. Some guests believe all rooms to have views not realizing a building must have a first floor. The correct pictures are specifically placed with the room descriptions on all sites for reserving guests. If there was any confusion with our photo gallery we apologize. A view is only guaranteed through room types. Unfortunately the room you had reserved was one of our more economical rooms. These rooms are regularly for our business stays, where our more luxurious amenities are not needed. We also pride ourselves in having a great view of NYC in our beautiful, up and coming, clean Long Island City. Thank you for staying with us. Next time you are in town please contact us directly and we will make sure your stay is everything you desired.

Ravel Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel its clean, the room is comfortable. The best part is the roof top. You can have dinner or party after dark. With a wonderful view of the city. The reason I didn't give it a five star, is because the staff wasn't friendly at all. Actually they made the atmosphere pretty uncomfortable for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

You went to NYC and stay at a hotel in Queens? Are you nuts? I'm sure you'll reply with a very positive review of the Ravel Hotel located next to the beautiful Queensboro Bridge in Long Island City (LIC) across the East River from the United Nations building. The view of Manhattan, especially from the Penthouse restaurant/club, is one of the best you'll get - day and night. The hotel is a bit out-of-the-way in an industrial area (a few blocks from Silvercup film & TV Studios), but it provides a complimentary shuttle service with pick-ups at the many nearby subway stations. Given the much lower cost of the Ravel rooms when compared to those in Manhattan, you'll be able to upgrade to a room on a high floor that looks out on the East River and beyond. My room was comfortable with the appropriate amenities. Be sure to include breakfast in your plan that is served in the rooftop restaurant. Much to my pleasant surprise, there is much to do and see during the day in LIC and nearby Astoria. Do some research before you go and ask the hotel staff to assist you with subways and directions. If time permits, make certain to visit the nearby riverfront Gantry State Park (see the historic Pepsi-Cola sign) and, in Astoria, the Socratese Sculpture Park and Isamu Noguchi Museum.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a high-floor room overlooking the East River and Manhattan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awesome experience to stay at Ravel. We really liked it. Front desk and other staff members are very responsive. Shuttle services and ambiance are good. Once the renovation gets over, I am sure that it will look more beautiful. Overall, we are very satisfied and look forward to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Area: It's a bit run down, and if you have to walk to the sub way, beaware it's a bit "sketchy". Run down neighberhood, garbage all over the streets, and it is surrounded by low income homes. But it is nice that the subway isn't too far, just a few blocks away.

Room: We had a king sized bed on the 2nd floor. The room itself is really nice and spacious. You get a deep soaker tub with a glass shower, two person sink. There is a sitting area and a bedroom. The only issue I had with this room is that it smelled like garbage both days we were there, and we couldn't even switch because the hotel was booked solid. After a while you forget the smell is there..
On weekends they host a club on the penthouse level, so the elevators can be full of very loud/annoying people which is unfortunate.

Service: The service was really good and they were very friendly. They supplied us with maps of the city and subway and tried to help us when they could. They were quick with the check in and check out.

We paid about 150/night and we booked 14 days in advance to save 20% off. When it comes down to it you have to decide how much you want to spend on a hotel. To get a 2-3 star you are looking at anywhere from 250$ and up a night in new york, and typically the rooms are small, run down and you share a bathroom with the room beside you.. which I will not do. We decided we were okay with the run down area and we paid for a nicer hotel... well other than the garbage smell

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms closer to the top of the hotel if you are there one the weekend, or be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nothing around the hotel and crappy view. We could partially see the Queensboro bridge from our room. Nicer view from the restaurant/bar on the Roof top. Rooms were nice but the light in the bathroom fell and hit my husband and smashed on the floor. It was cleaned up but no one really seemed to care.
Dance club on the roof Saturday night which could disturb light sleepers. The walls are thin so you can hear every word spoken in the hall and a little bit in peoples rooms. We were woken up a few times but went back to sleep, so not a big deal for us.
Staff was all friendly enough; nothing over the top though.
We would stay again if we found another cheaper deal. Located a short distance to the subway or only a $15.00 cab ride to Time Square. Clean but dated hotel with a nice looking expansion happening now

Room Tip: Higher level rooms will give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.