We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Jamaica, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel its clean, the room is comfortable. The best part is the roof top. You can have dinner or party after dark. With a wonderful view of the city. The reason I didn't give it a five star, is because the staff wasn't friendly at all. Actually they made the atmosphere pretty uncomfortable for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    152
    75
    59
    74
See reviews for
70
227
28
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

You went to NYC and stay at a hotel in Queens? Are you nuts? I'm sure you'll reply with a very positive review of the Ravel Hotel located next to the beautiful Queensboro Bridge in Long Island City (LIC) across the East River from the United Nations building. The view of Manhattan, especially from the Penthouse restaurant/club, is one of the best you'll get - day and night. The hotel is a bit out-of-the-way in an industrial area (a few blocks from Silvercup film & TV Studios), but it provides a complimentary shuttle service with pick-ups at the many nearby subway stations. Given the much lower cost of the Ravel rooms when compared to those in Manhattan, you'll be able to upgrade to a room on a high floor that looks out on the East River and beyond. My room was comfortable with the appropriate amenities. Be sure to include breakfast in your plan that is served in the rooftop restaurant. Much to my pleasant surprise, there is much to do and see during the day in LIC and nearby Astoria. Do some research before you go and ask the hotel staff to assist you with subways and directions. If time permits, make certain to visit the nearby riverfront Gantry State Park (see the historic Pepsi-Cola sign) and, in Astoria, the Socratese Sculpture Park and Isamu Noguchi Museum.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a high-floor room overlooking the East River and Manhattan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awesome experience to stay at Ravel. We really liked it. Front desk and other staff members are very responsive. Shuttle services and ambiance are good. Once the renovation gets over, I am sure that it will look more beautiful. Overall, we are very satisfied and look forward to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Area: It's a bit run down, and if you have to walk to the sub way, beaware it's a bit "sketchy". Run down neighberhood, garbage all over the streets, and it is surrounded by low income homes. But it is nice that the subway isn't too far, just a few blocks away.

Room: We had a king sized bed on the 2nd floor. The room itself is really nice and spacious. You get a deep soaker tub with a glass shower, two person sink. There is a sitting area and a bedroom. The only issue I had with this room is that it smelled like garbage both days we were there, and we couldn't even switch because the hotel was booked solid. After a while you forget the smell is there..
On weekends they host a club on the penthouse level, so the elevators can be full of very loud/annoying people which is unfortunate.

Service: The service was really good and they were very friendly. They supplied us with maps of the city and subway and tried to help us when they could. They were quick with the check in and check out.

We paid about 150/night and we booked 14 days in advance to save 20% off. When it comes down to it you have to decide how much you want to spend on a hotel. To get a 2-3 star you are looking at anywhere from 250$ and up a night in new york, and typically the rooms are small, run down and you share a bathroom with the room beside you.. which I will not do. We decided we were okay with the run down area and we paid for a nicer hotel... well other than the garbage smell

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms closer to the top of the hotel if you are there one the weekend, or be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nothing around the hotel and crappy view. We could partially see the Queensboro bridge from our room. Nicer view from the restaurant/bar on the Roof top. Rooms were nice but the light in the bathroom fell and hit my husband and smashed on the floor. It was cleaned up but no one really seemed to care.
Dance club on the roof Saturday night which could disturb light sleepers. The walls are thin so you can hear every word spoken in the hall and a little bit in peoples rooms. We were woken up a few times but went back to sleep, so not a big deal for us.
Staff was all friendly enough; nothing over the top though.
We would stay again if we found another cheaper deal. Located a short distance to the subway or only a $15.00 cab ride to Time Square. Clean but dated hotel with a nice looking expansion happening now

Room Tip: Higher level rooms will give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My initial excitement at staying in this hotel with my wife and two teenage children was somewhat tempered by the amount of negative comments on trip advisor. I had a feeling of foreboding that I had made a mistake in booking the facility and this was not diminished when the hotel failed to answer an email enquiry I sent them a week before arriving.

To be honest I didn’t know what to expect when we arrived. In fairness it was easier to find the hotel than we were led to believe, the reception area was clean and the staff were well presented. We had booked for three nights but some hours before arriving we were told that a family member was dying and that we would have to fly home to Ireland the next day. We explained this to the receptionist and we were bluntly told that we would not be entitled to a refund of the charges for the second and third nights. In the circumstances, the hotel staff could have been more sensitive as my wife was very upset at the news we had received. To add to the lack of sensitivity, we were presented with two room cards and told that there would be a charge of five dollars for each card not returned – how petty.

The lift to our accommodation was rickety and grubby. The carpet on the landing was filthy - the room was just okay. Don’t expect Egyptian cotton sheets.

The following morning we went into the city to pick up some bits and pieces before we went home. When we returned we were shocked to find that all our belongings had been taken out of our room and were dumped on a hotel trolley at reception. Items which we had not already packed were just thrown on top of our cases and left in a public area which was not always attended. We had just come from Boston where my daughter had competed in the world Irish dance Championships. Her dance costume worth $2000 was left at reception where anybody could have walked out with it. My wife was in tears at the callous and inconsiderate manner we were dealt with. Her dad was on his deathbed 3000 miles away and hotel staff made no allowance. Our personal property was available for anybody to walk off with. One member of staff informed us that checkout time was at 12 noon and that since we were not staying that night they were within their rights to do what they did. They couldn’t wait to get rid of us so they could sell the room again.

Somebody with more money than brains paid an excellent designer to design this hotel. They then filled it with cheap inexperienced impolite and ill-mannered staff who know nothing about running a hotel. Some of the staff were friendly, but the people in charge were horrible. The facility is being sweated for every cent and there is no interest in looking after their guests.

Stay away from this dump until it’s taken over by new management.

Room Tip: Choose it in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavelGM, Manager at Ravel Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate any feedback we can get. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Maybe there was some miscommunication between you and the front desk agent. The reason why you could not be refunded was because the room was reserved as an “Advanced Purchase”. Upon reserving this largely discounted rate, you enter a contract in which you are charged immediately after reserving and there can be no modification/ cancellation unless there is legitimate proof of illness/ emergency. We relocated the luggage to our guest storage because you left in a hurry and told us you were checking out. It was our understanding that you had either left all your belongings behind or had just forgotten to bring them to storage. We apologize if these actions offended you. By no means, did we want to make your family and you feel unwanted. We will be glad to give you a refund if provided with the necessary documents. Our main goal as a hotel is to be as hospitable as possible to our guest. Most of our guests love our staff. I am sorry if you feel you were mistreated in anyway. Please allow us to rectify this situation.

Ravel Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed on the third floor facing Manhattan skyline, apart from from two chimneys these did not spoil the view. Rooms are very spacious, we stayed in a double Queen sized room. Room starting to look tired-paint needed touching up and a few minor repairs but nothing major and they certainly didn't spoil the stay. Staff are excellent -friendly and helpful. The jewel of the hotel is the roof top bar and restaurant. Asian styled food. My favourite was the samurai burger and the fries are the best. The view from the roof top is incredible. Location is ok, no shops near by at present so if you want nibbles or drink for your room I would suggest buying from Walgreen in Manhattan before you return to the hotel. 15-20 minute walk back from nearest subway but the hotel lay on a free shuttle bus (at designated times) to subway.
The area will most definetly be developed over the coming years and the Ravel is already building and extension.
Overall I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor and above facing Manhattan. But maybe not top floor as they have a Friday and Saturday n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.