We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great short stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Fantastic views, great food, friendly staff and, although the area is 'industrial,' it felt very safe. Rooms, although slightly worn, were beautifully decorated with all services you would expect. The view from the balcony, which I believe is available from every room, was incredible. Subway to Manhattan a short walk or shuttle car away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    158
    83
    66
    79
See reviews for
76
240
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ravel on 18th of June and we enjoyed our holiday very much, the hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and are furnished to a high standard. The hotel facilities are excellent and the check in process was very efficient. Room service was always on time and the menu selection was great.Breakfast was good and simple but dinner was excellent. Subway system from the hotel was so easy to get to and the shuttle service they offered was helpful as well when we didnt want to walk.  The music up at their rooftop was very entertaining and we definitely enjoyed ourselves. Hopefully next year we will have some time off to revisit Ravel.

Room Tip: King penthouse has a beautiful view and its very modern/spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room was very spacious, but view wasn't the best (carpark). Good views of Manhattan from restaurant/roof, 5 minute walk to metro to get into Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The staff was great. They were Courteous, Helpful, and very kind overall.

The rooms were very spacious, modern and clean. The walls could be repainted, bathrooms were a little dirty in the corners which looked pretty unattractive in a room that looks so clean and modern.

The Bar on the roof was horrible. $8 draft beers, the bartenders were rude, uninterested in not only us, but even other guests/patrons. Last call was 11pm? So much for a few birthday drinks at midnight.....

We were on the 4th floor. The hotel is directly next to the Queensboro Bridge, which is AWFULLY NOISEY. Jackhammers were constantly going, through the entire night,plus the road noise from all the cars. This was extremely annoying, I'd recommend bringing earplugs.

The view of Manhattan over the East River WOULD be awesome except for the 2 ugly smokestacks across the st from the Ravel Hotel are directly obstructing the view of the skyline. The view was the biggest perk of staying at this hotel...and it was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: request a room with a view of manhattan, highest up as possible, and most importantly...as far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked this hotel based on pricing and location, and it was great. They had a shuttle to take and pick you up from queensborough station, and could get to the city within minutes. The room was very clean, and a bit cool, with sliding glass doors for the bathroom. We took Amtrak to get to NY, and the driver was awesome to get us back to Penn Station in time to catch our departing train. I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river so you can see the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got a nice, clean, and spacious room with a nice view on Manhattan. The service was good. Within 15 minutes you are by metro downtown Manhatten. There were some parties at the rooftop, but we did not experience any noise nuisance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a night to attend a function at their Penthouse808 restaurant and enjoyed our brief but comfortable stay. The staff was very courteous, from the restaurant staff to the front desk and valet.

The room itself was spacious (a big plus in New York city), designed with a modern feel, with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. Parking was free, although they have only about 20-plus spots available.

The hotel serves a great breakfast buffet as well, with the usual fare - bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, fresh juices, coffee, cereal and pastries, and omelettes made to order.

Being in Long Island City Queens, the hotel was also a short drive from Manhattan (via the 59th street bridge) and Logan airport. They have a shuttle van that can drop you off at the subway station that is also available for airport transfers.

If ever we find ourselves back in the Big Apple, we'll definitely try to stay at the Ravel Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, request for a room 2 floors below the penthouse, as Penthouse808 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.