We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening Chic with a Youthful Outlook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ravel Hotel to your Saves list
Ravel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Leicester - UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Happening Chic with a Youthful Outlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Planning a short visit to NYC we decided to stay outside Manhattan for two reasons - and the Ravel hit the mark on both. First - cost. Manhattan hotels feel the need (and seem able) to charge inflated prices because of where they are. Ok for many thats the buzz but there is more. Second - the view. On Manhattan you cant usually see much of the place because you are right in the thick of it - unless you pa a Gzillion dollars a night for a penthouse suite. From LIC and the Ravel you get the full skyline from Brooklyn Bridge to way up the East River and with the Queensboro Bridge almost starting in the car park of the hotel.

Its amazing - sitting on 8th right on the East River your room (if you remember to book a river view room). The Chrysler, Empire State, United Nations and more are all there for you. From the 6th floor roof top bar, open in good weather, the view is even better.

The rooms are well appointed, open plan studio style extremely comfortable. Service and all round help is excellent - with the random NY Cabbie to contend with the in house town car taking you into Manhatten safely is a great extra. Also reasonably priced service to JFK which beats the cabbies yet again.

Didnt try any food - breakfast - there are thousants of options in the city which are part of the experience but for value, comfort and the view alone - we love the Ravel.

Room Tip: River View - high but not to ohigh as the club on the roof may be noisier than you would like -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    158
    83
    66
    79
See reviews for
76
240
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Ravel hotel for 4 nights and didn't think it was too bad at all. Let's be clear - this is not Manhatten but we didn't pay Manhatten prices for our room either. Yes, it is in an industrial area but we didn't once feel unsafe and we walked back from the subway every night. We also went to a local restaurant, 15 minutes walk down Vernon Blvd and felt safe. There is a minibus to take you to the subway station and to other local restaurants, but we used this to take a break from walking, not because we felt the neighbourhood was dangerous.
Our room was okay and was cleaned every day. We would have preferred one nearer the top of the building and facing the fantastic view of the Manhatten skyline but instead we got a room on the 2nd floor facing the car park, but we were only really there to sleep and so it didn't matter too much. There is a minibar in there room and pay-per-view films as well as standard TV coverage. The small room safe was also really useful.
We had breakfast at the hotel once and it was good value. $7 for the continental breakfast with cereal, toast, pastries, ham, cheese etc and a further $7 if you wanted omlette. Not bad value when you consider that we paid $50 in one place for breakfast near Times Square.
The hotel needs a bit of tidying up. The reception area is very nice and so is the penthouse bar and restaurant. The carpet and paintwork in the hallways need attention and there were a few, very minor, issues with the room. Nothing major, but perhaps the hotel needs to be 3 star rather than 4.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and always available when needed.
All in all, we felt that we got good value from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors in order to be able to get the fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Was able to check in a day earlier than originally planned. Great customer service. Friendly staff and a gorgeous view of the bridge & city from my room. Loved that they had a shuttle service to take us to the train station and the walk wasnt too bad either. I def plan on staying again on my next trip to NY

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Went to the roof top bar "Penthouse808" Worst service I ever experienced. Waitress came by - asked us to order right away because kitchen was closing soon and never seen her again - didn't even take our drink order. Then she had the audicity to have someone else drop off the bill with a 15% gratuity already added to the bill. Suffice to say I got hold of the manager, had the bill revised and for the first time in my life left zero tip. One star rating I posted above is too good for this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed for 9 nights at The Ravel mid September and had a great time. The staff are really friendly, the shuttle bus to the train station is excellent and the hotel rooms are very nice and very large for the price. Had a balcony too which was excellent. Shower was good and the room cleaned daily with towels changed, even had its own iron and 42" tv!

I can't understand many of the complaints below - did they try looking at what was available on Manhatten at the same room rate?!?

I can only deduced some people have never left their own house in their lives before coming here as this Hotel was great value. The rooftop bar is expensive but clearly marketed well and will bring in a lot of revenue through its location, views and private hire. The 'dress code' is easy to meet if you are the type who washes occasionally and owns clothes other than flip flops and a vest...

We were on the 2nd floor and couldn't hear a thing from the nightclub.

All in all a 1st class choice for anyone visiting New York who doesn't want to spend £200 a night on a room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This beautiful hotel was a pleasure to stay at. My wife and I enjoyed the spacious room and very comfortable bed. The view from our balcony of Manhattan was stunning at night! The shuttle is a big plus. The staff was friendly and helpful! I will definitely stay here on my next trip to NYC.

The only minus was the service at the restaurant. We were the only people there and it took forever to get waited on and to get our bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at The Ravel Hotel for a wedding that also took place at The Ravel Hotel. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. This hotel could be amazing if some work was put into the rooms. Some things about the room seemed to be looked over by the hotel. There was a huge water stain on the ceiling and the room seemed warn and needed to be re-painted. The bathroom area had frosted glass doors that separated it from the bed area, but when these "walls" were closed there was a space where they did not meet. This made it awkward when you are sharing a room with anyone besides your partner. Also, the toilet and shower stall had similar "walls." The toilet glass door was too big. When you closed it there was also a space where it did not meet the other wall. The shower stall that was next to the toilet leaked into the toilet area. The lighting in the bathroom was very dim. It was hard to put makeup on or do hair in the bathroom. Although, the hair dryer that was included in the room was powerful. The soaps, lotions, etc. had a good smell. The towels were fluffy, but small.

We stayed here three nights and we never had housekeeping come clean our room except the last full day when I went down the hall and asked the housekeeping guy to come. Also, the buttons on our phone (such as front desk and housekeeping) did not work. They all went to the room's voicemail. I had to call the main hotel number in order to get in touch with anyone.

This hotel does have a small parking lot. Spots are small and first come first serve all the time.

Our room did have a balcony with a nice view. If you visit the rooftop bar it is very expensive. We did not get food up there, but the wedding food was really good. The views from the rooftop are also very beautiful.

This hotel is not super close to the subway. It's about a 15-20 min walk to the subway station. They have a shuttle service that runs on the hour or you can pay $5 for a trip to the station. This service ends at 11:00pm.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, but these rooms tend to be loud from the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravel Hotel

Address: 8-08 Queens Plaza South, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Island City's first boutique hotel featuring lavishly decorated rooms that overlook the Manhattan skyline, the hotel is nested between the Queensboro Bridge and Midtown Manhattan. Whether traveling for business, pleasure, or both, the Ravel offers every comfort of home. Where you can enjoy a true city experience without the hassle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravel Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.