We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good Kosher deli food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Kosher Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lido Kosher Deli
641 1/2 East Park Ave, Long Beach, NY 11561
516-431-4411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
HoiAn Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very good Kosher deli food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is my place for hot pastrami. When I return to Long Island from my travels I always come her for a pastrami fix. The pastrami is piled high on perfect rye bread with the correct mustard, the cole slaw and pickles that accompany the sandwich are perfect and I always include a bowl of matzo ball soup. My friend always has corned beef which she says is excellent and they make a pea soup that returns her to the old days in her mothers kitchen. They have Dr Bowns Cel-Ray, Crème, and Black Cherry sodas which for me are the right accompaniment to the meal. I always travel the extra miles to get here and this will be the last restaurant I eat in while in New York before going to Florida for the winter. You can not go wrong at the Lido Deli.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    28
    14
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Working in the area, and hankering for some real New York deli food, I stumbled across this gem! Great service, and amazing sandwiches. I had a triple decker with pastrami and corned beef with cole slaw and Russian dressing. MMMMMMM!!! Not too fatty, soft, fresh rye bread, and enormous!!! I couldn't finish it! And everything there looked delicious. I can't wait to go back and try the knishes, soup, and myriad of other kosher delights I saw the other patrons around me noshing on!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This one of the best kosher deli's around. Yes, the place could use an updating, but everything else is great. The food is excellent, the sandwiches are gigantic, and the soups are great too. Oh yes the fries and onion rings are excellent too. The service is always excellent. Yes, Ben's is a nicer restaurant and the food is very similar, but did you come to look around or enjoy the food. We have had nasty servers at Bens, never at Lido.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take out only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The less you see of this place the better. What you don't know can't hurt you? This may be true because this places aesthetics have seen better days. Not touched since it opened the sight of the place itself can make your stomach curl. Though when you take out and don't see anything its decent deli food. I'd say dont judge a book by its cover but this is one ugly book

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Desperately needs some modernization”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Everything else is excellent here. The sandwiches, the soups, the pickles, and the cole slaw. Prompt friendly service too. But the decor and furnishings desperately need an updating. Its like dining in the 1970's.
I guess I'm spoled after often eating at Bens Deli in Carle Place and Woodbury.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Kosher Deli also viewed

 
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to Lido Kosher Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Kosher Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.