We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Kosher Deli in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Kosher Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lido Kosher Deli
641 1/2 East Park Ave, Long Beach, NY 11561
516-431-4411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“The best Kosher Deli in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am a New Yorker, living in Europe. When I am back in New York, I know every famous deli in the city. Katz's is fun because they filmed "When Harry Met Sally" there, starring a Long Beach, NY native, Billy Crystal. But the best food? The absolutely best lean pastrami on rye (with yellow mustard, of course!) is at the Lido Kosher Deli in Long Beach. Their other food is great, too, when I lived there, but now I don't- so family and friends ship me/bring me pastrami from this place whenever they visit. It is the "fee" for overnighting by me.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“chicken soup for the soul (and mouth)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spend a weekend in Long Beach most summers, and this place is always our one must-eat spot while we're there. The menu is great, with lots of classic deli sandwiches and Kosher dinners. As others have noted, the staff is great. Ambiance is exactly what you'd expect, stripped down old deli. Servings are huge, cole slaw and pickles are on the house, what more can you say?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pastrami for the soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ok so it is a typical old school kosher deli, no atmosphere and nothing on the menu to surprise anyone. This is my go to place for pastrami. Many places serve it but not this good, I live near a restaurant called the Pastrami King, and I am willing to drive to this pace for good pastrami. The taste of the pastrami takes me back to my childhood! Good fresh cut fries as well, wash it down with a Dr Browns soda and lay on the couch for a nap!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Want a pickle?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The only true kosher deli in town. Can you eat a hot dog anywhere else? I think not. The best pastrami and matzoh ball soup outside my grandma's kitchen.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Jewish Soul Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Jewish soul food at it's best. Pastrami, corned beef, knishes, potato and noodle pudding, world class chicken salad, and the best half sours on the planet. Prices are almost TOO low...the quality of food is exceptional.
Carlos the waiter....(:

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lido Kosher Deli also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to Lido Kosher Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Kosher Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.