We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to Long Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cuban Crocodile

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cuban Crocodile
26 East Park Avenue, Long Beach, NY 11561
(516) 442-2444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 100 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great addition to Long Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I went here last month for dinner. we shared empanadas and I had a cuban. I found the food to be excellent. I liked the tapas options on the menu as well as the entree and sandwhich choices. I found the prices to be reasonable for Long Beach. Nice atmosphere - romantic. I look forward to returning!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
“Great Cuban Food... traditional Cuban Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Went to NYC for a school reunion and ended up at the Cuban Crocodile with some friends...wow what great food and drinks. We had a blast and cant wait to go back.

Hasta Pronto Amigos.....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

sensible portions, accommodating smiling staff, delicious traditional meals and great value. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone! Go!!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban Atmosphere and Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having visited Havana a few months ago, I was so eager to try this new Long Beach restaurant featuring Cuban cuisine. What a great evening and such a wonderful reminder of the trip. Loved and ambience and the food. Prices were very reasonable and the menu had many choices. The coup de gras was the server giving us the check in a mini-cigar box - nice touch!! Given the lack of Cuban restaurants on Long Island, this one is a really welcome addition.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We tried to go to Cuban Crocodile last week but it was packed! A 45 minute wait on Saturday night. Good to know they take reservations. After making reservations for three on a Friday night there was no wait time. We were seated at the table in the front area (next time I'll ask for a back table). The mojitos were excellent ( a little pricey, but excellent). We ordered the fried plantains and the chorizo for appetizers. The chorizo was excellent; cooked different than I'm used to in a sauce with onions; yum! The fried plantains were similar to potato chips. It came with a garlicky dipping sauce that was very good. For dinner we ordered the Ropa Vieja which was a generous portion and delicious! The shredded beef (of the Ropa Vieja) was very tasty! We also had the pork dish (I forgot the name of it) It was sliced pork with the skin which was very crispy and good. That was the best value for the dollar! I wouldn't order the steak again; it was the most expensive item on the nenu and it was a 1/4 inch thick; I thought I should be a little thicker than a minute steak; though it was good! It came with great mojo sauce that we used on the pork as well. Nice touch was the complementary dessert shot of cocoa liquor and cream! Great way to end the meal! Overall delicious meal; will definitely go back and try some of the tapas.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cuban Crocodile also viewed

Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 
Long Beach, Long Island
Long Beach, Long Island
 

Been to The Cuban Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cuban Crocodile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.