We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just being trendy don't make it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allegria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Allegria Hotel to your Saves list
Allegria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 West Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Hewlett
1 review
“Just being trendy don't make it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

The menu isn't anything to write home about abd neither is the food or service... It was flawed in concept and execution. And at $75 a piece, it a’s a major problem. The service is rushed, the waiters and runners appear at the table panting like dogs after a long chase. I was not informed of any special, received no description of the menu or the courses. This restaurant clearly lives on its image and glitter. Nothing was outstanding or exceptional given the resturant's hype.
Overall, being that we have been to many restaurants at a similar price point, this does not compare to most of them.
Just being trendy don't make it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    122
    76
    98
    157
See reviews for
154
229
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, FL
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel is ok. I mean the rooms are nice, quiet and the housekeeping was very good. But the staff seemed to be clueless. To the point that it was almost comical. Just one example of many: I called down tto the front desk and asked -- in exactly these words: "Does the hotel have a business center? I need computer access to change a flight?" Response: "I don't know, let me try and find out." (Answer: it doesn't).

Now what hotel front desk person would not know if there was a computer to be used by a guest? Come on.

Two more specifics:
After three days, the valet was still greeting me as if I was just checking in.

One employee, Keith, was EXCELLENT. The hotel needs a few more Keiths on staff.

In short, you'll enjoy your stay here but you will nto be overwhelmed either.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelnut44
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Located so close to Manhattan, Long Beach has always been one of my favorite beaches and Allegria is simply a breath of fresh air to the area. The common areas and rooms are nicely decorated and there is a great bar/lounge overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. Private access to the beach with beach chairs already set up for you is a homerun. It’s a great place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I live locally and stayed at the Allegria with 3 of my friends for a girls night out. I was greeted (if you can call it that) rudely at the entrance of the hotel, it was almost confrontational as if I was crossing the velvet rope to an exclusive club. We rented a $500 a night suite and had high expectations. The room itself was simple but beautiful EXCEPT for the bathroom that was still UNDER CONSTRUCTION!!! yes, one of the bathrooms was fully raw - with construction buckets in it and all. the 'finished' bathroom had no enclosure around the shower and the bathroom got soaked after showering. We requested an ipod docking station and it took over an hour to get it. There was no safe in the room due to a 'recall' so if you wanted a safe you had to bring your valuables to the front desk. I am not a complainer but this hotel left a lot to be desired on the service side. The actual hotel and location was beautiful, the food at the atlantica was delicious, although again, service was veeeery sloooow. Had this been a real vacation for me, rather than just a girls night out I would have been very upset.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Arlinton, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I'm from Long Beach, and seeing a hotel finally get built on the board walk is great. However this place is Waaaaay over the top. This is Long Island, not South Beach.

My sister was married in LB last year and most of the wedding party came up from the DC area. Since this is the only hotel in LB we had a ton of rooms. What is hilarious is that when we first tried to book the rooms why wanted full payment up front, this was before the hotel was even built.

The bar is cool, but closed early. The restaurant was 2 star food and service in a five star building.

I wish the first hotel to open up on the board walk had more of a Hilton on the beach vibe then this art-deco South Beach wanna be.

Word of advice, look for a condo rental on VRBO, if you want to stay in Long Beach. Much cheaper and there are a bunch for rent.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our room A/C is broken the tech came over and found that the filter was so dirty it was not pushing any air through. Now cleaned the A/C is still not working and room is damp and feels like a warm bathroom after a shower. The restaurant staff needs a real manager and the room service phone needs to be not connected to the restaurant line. It took 20 minutes to clear my dirty plates after we were done breakfast. The hotel manager needs to take classes on speaking with employees and clients, walking by a guest that is spending $500 plus a night, one need to be a people person. Will not recommend this hotel or restaurant until they have a real team in place. Poor service and disgustingly damp moist rooms. For a manager to answer the phone using speaker phone is unacceptable. If you, the hotel wish to succeed my consulting services are available.
Do not know how this place got a five diamond award makes me distrust small luxury hotels of the world because they are not do there due diligence.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Been there, done that, tried, it, sorry but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegria Hotel

Address: 80 West Broadway, Long Beach, NY 11561
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegria Hotel is Long Island's Only Luxury Oceanfront Hotel where the Hampton's meets Manhattan. Slumber in elegance in our 143 rooms and suites and discover impeccable accommodations with personalized service. Savor Atlantica and indulge in gourmet cuisine by executive Chef Raed Jallad. Experience the L'onda Lounge and enjoy a cocktail while over looking the Atlantic. There is always plenty to do, weather talking a stroll on the iconic long beach boardwalk or surfing with skudin surf; there is always fun under the sun. The Allegria Hotel also features a variety of chic event spaces perfect for meetings, private events or the wedding of your dreams. Experience first hand the Allegria Lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Allegria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.