We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brass Rail - Locust Valley

The Brass Rail - Locust Valley
107 Forest Avenue, Locust Valley, NY 11560
5167239103
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brass Rail - Locust Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Weirs Lane
Description: We give people great food, selections, drinks and service in a casual atmosphere at a reasonable price
Locust Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Food & service were very good. Locust Valley is not known for it's selection of quality restaurants. It's nice to once again have a local restaurant of this caliber.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time here and the food does not disappoint. The fried calamari was crispy and plentiful. The grilled octopus was fantastic. For the main course, the skirt steak was great and the steak frites was awesome. The prices are very reasonable. The service was a little slow and impersonal, but it was a busy Friday night. Overall, you can't go wrong at this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food Excellent Relaxing Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved this place. Relaxing and friendly. We had high table over in the corner by the bar. My date, Nancy, had the flounder and I had the seared tuna. We shared the deviled eggs appetizer. Loved it all. Service was friendly and everyone was is a great mood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“consistantly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

this restaurant is as perfect a choice as you can make - the place itself is attractive whether you are dressed up or casual. I have eaten here too many times to count, and the food is always really good. the drinks are really good. the service is always really good. and even though I am lucky to have it as a neighborhood place, others who have joined us often request it- but be advised you will need reservations for larger tables especially on weekends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Never a dissapointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

I have had t pleasure of eating here for t past two yrs. each dish and every experience has been amazing. This is one of t best long island restraunts u can find. Call for reservations early

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brass Rail - Locust Valley also viewed

 
Locust Valley, NY
 

Been to The Brass Rail - Locust Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brass Rail - Locust Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.