We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamus Restaurant

Shamus Restaurant
98 W Ave, Lockport, NY 14094
(716) 433-9809
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 105 Restaurants in Lockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheektowaga, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

On April 3, 2013 there were 11 of us going for lunch. I had suggested this restaurant as I have been there before and had taken 8 seniors and another co-worker. Upon arrival they had the table set for 11, water in glasses. As everyone was looking at the menu they all said WOW, so many choices. The waitress was great, and waited till all were seated to give us the daily specials. The food was of great quality, and plenty of it. Some had sandwiches (took half home) a couple of us had the salad special of the day (great). The waitress was always brining us coffee, water, and making sure everything was ok. At the end she asked about dessert, after eating all that who could force in dessert. We said we would come back for appetizers and then have dessert. We were given individual checks which surprised all. A great experience at a great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GRAND ISLAND
Top Contributor
653 reviews 653 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
“March 17, 365 days a year...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Cheap Gourmets regret to admit they visit Shamus only on St. Patrick's Day, which is rather like going to work only on payday. It's a gloriously charming, insistently but not overpoweringly Irish, with a broad menu somewhere between fine dining and pub. This year's treat included a steak-and-stout pie, which justified its name on both sides of the hyphen, and a nice stuffed chicken every so slightly in need of the poulette sauce which, due to feeling a tad under the weather, she had passed on. A marvelous sliver of cranberry bread in the tray, and a luscious maple-balsamic dressing on the salad. Beads on the table and a shamrock at the bottom of his class, bringing a prize. Tab for the day, about $37. Glorious service, too, and a place much favored by middle-aged families.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Bisque Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had lunch recently with my mother and we both enjoyed the lobster bisque. Don't think about calories when you eat here, it's too good! Try the steak sandwich with cheese and spinach too. If there's room, love the key lime pie!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Five Star Dining and Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Shamus has always had a reputation with us locals as the place to go for the best food, service, and ambiance in Lockport. The affordable menu has a wide spectrum of choices. My son's favorite appetizer is the potato pancakes. My daughter favors the lobster bisque. Portions are ample and the ingredients are fresh. The comfortable dining room has the elegant feel of a cozy manor. Your Lockport experience is not complete without a visit to The Shamus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were directed to this wonderful place by our Inn Keeper (Brookins) and we were so pleasantly surprised how good everything was. Cute quaint place, not too far from the locks, which we just visited. Nice linen tablecloths, great service......and the food was excellent!! We had one of their nightly specials.....yankee pot roast, butternut squash and mashed potato peas, and a salad and bread......so delicious!!! Great portions at 12.95!! What a deal. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shamus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.