We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar turned ghetto” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant

Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant
7240 Oswego Rd, Liverpool, NY 13090
315.214.4116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 100 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good bar turned ghetto”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place was nice. Spent some time in the summer playing kan jam, watched some ppl play volleyball. Went this time and now its ghetto. Got frisked at the door and my friend was told he couldnt wear a hat. Its bc of the ppl that are now going to this place. They need security bc it is unsafe. Wont go again now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knichols7240, Owner at Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I want to thank you for taking your time to write a review. Friday and Saturday night after 10pm inside are the nights that we go for a dance theme with a DJ and we are trying hard to insure that we get a social crowd that is there to have a good time. We are looking for people to dress appropriately. We have also mixed in a number of themed events such as 80's night, Country night and Ugly Sweater party. I want to assure everyone that as we head into summer and the outside bar opens up again that people will be playing volleyball and Kan Jam and casual dress will be welcomed as it is during most business hours.
Thank you.
Sharkey's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 STRIKES, YOU'RE OUT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a coupon so went on a weekend to watch a basketball game.. Had their wings (wichwere discounted due to the game.) They were acceptable-wouldn't order again at full price. Went to pay the bill with the coupon and was told it didn't apply to "specials".Owner stepped in and explained. Offered us free (BUT OUTDATED) tee shirts for our trouble. Went again to finally use the coupon. Extremely poor service. My husband had the phliiy cheese and ended up being sick all night. Went 1 more time-chicken quesadilla had not chicken or cheese. Fish tacos had only 2 shrimp in each and overflowing shredded lettuce-flavorless. Never asked by the staff how our meals were. Not worth the 20 mile drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great outside bar. Not much good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The place is always busy. Fun to watch the game at. I wouldn't go for dinner, they have bar food that's good as appetizers, but don't go here expecting fine dining! It's a sports bar. The outdoor bar is great in the warmer months. There is kanjam and volleyball. Also bands outside on weekends. Overall a really fun place!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Typical pub service and food, but the patio was quite nice and there's a shark tank there - which is cool if you like to watch them eat the live goldfish dumped in every so often, or not so cool if you're not into that.

Good selection of beer at the bar, decent prices. I'd go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Awesome bar,staff,shuttle to S.U. football game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We where in Syracuse for a couple of day's,visiting from Toronto,staying at a hotel in close proximity to Sharkey's Bar.I had heard about a bus shuttle they have that goes to the dome,from there.I dropped by,game day morning,spoke to Donna,bartender,and made the arrangements for the shuttle later that day.4-6pm was happy hour,the bus was leaving at 6pm.The atmosphere was great,we got all excited about the game,with all the energy in Sharkey's! Had some apps,great, a few beverage's,beauty,and jumped on the shuttle down to the game,the Orange won,all was well in the world that night! Would love to be back to Sharkey's in the summer,I am sure it rock's!
Good time's at Sharkey's!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharkey's Sports Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.