We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great homemade food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Hotel Restaurant

American Hotel Restaurant
7304 E Main St, Lima, NY 14485-9730
585-624-9464
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 restaurants in Lima
Restaurant details
henrietta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stop here whenever we can and it is always a surprise of what the soup of the day will be. It may change while you are there they only make so much and it is fresh and hot. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a soup that they have never heard of or maybe a sandwich that they haven't heard about since they were a kid. The staff is always very friendly and it is very laid back and comforting. if you are in or near Lima N.Y. this is a must stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    22
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want a change from the corporate world and want a delicious home cooked meal, this is a great place to go. The service is great and the food is yummy. Awesome selection of soups, I had the cheeseburger chowder, holy moly! The stuffed cabbage was outstanding. Relaxing atmosphere and great people. I will totally go again as well as bring my friends and family !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing soups!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Quaint, relaxing place to eat with the most delicious soups on the planet. Owners always on site with great stories to share.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, New York
1 review
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great choice of soup, nice selection of draft beer. Comfortable and convivial. Tasty American cuisine. I had a white hot and some cheeseburger chowder and got to watch the baseball game I wanted to see.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place has a comfortable, historic, nostalgic atmosphere and the food is clearly homemade, of high quality, and unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had mexican-rice soup and a chicken-wing wrap (which was instead served on a roll b/c they had just run out of wraps). The soup... thick and hearty with rice, incredibly tender cuts of beef (a big plus, typically it's ground beef elsewhere), tomatoes, maybe some other stuff. It was not real spicy but loaded with flavor and with a noticable hint of cilantro (another big plus, most mexican restaurants fail to use cilantro) which made the soup very bright and perfectly suited for summer. After I scarfed down that soup, I wanted another gallon.

The chicken-wing sandwhich... almost everyone makes these identically but this one was much different. There was no lettuce, no shredded cheese, no fried chicken nuggets bathed in Frank's red hot sauce. Instead there was chicken, loads of it, in grilled chunks, bathed in a light hot sauce mixed in with some bleu cheese dressing and some other spices. A couple chunks were a little overcooked but most were perfectly tender.

Because the food was so unique and made with a lot of thought and care, I'll definitely be back, especially to try more of their soups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Honeoye Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to American Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.