We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Find - Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodbridge, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique Find - Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I booked a special thru travelzoo for $99. We got a great deal! This place was wonderful! Its a very special place.

We arrived on Thursday afternoon, there was really no signage for the parking, but the girl at the desk in the lobby was quite helpful. They had upgraded us to the Spring Lake Room - although it did not overlook the river - it was beautiful. Very spacious, bathroom was huge, linens were very good quality!

We had dinner at the hotels restaurant that night - which is a little odd, because it is basically the second floor? No real entrance.....but the server was so pleasant, the food was quite good for the price. This is the same place we had breakfast the next morning, the breakfast was small, but it filled us up until lunch.

I wish we would have booked two nights as it was so nice and relaxing there. We did not have a chance to use the spa.

It seems like the owners are still working on this property - you could see some of the doors for rooms open with construction going on. I would guess it is very expensive for them to try to build the hotel as they want it. This is not a chain hotel, it is very unique - and I would assume a labour of love. I really hope that this hotel is a great success. Lewiston looks lovely and we would love to come back an visit in the summer time! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    188
    88
    81
    32
See reviews for
104
391
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Barton on a wagjag jaunt so the value was outsatnding! Decent hotel, large rooms, gorgeous location and excellent staff. We were here for two nights and dined in house on the first night. The restaurant was quiet and relaxing with perfect lighting and attentive service. Salmon is the choice to go with here, my wife said it was the best shes ever had. I ordered steak and it was average. The second night we walked a few short minutes to thhe brickyard and enjoyed pub food, beer and watched womens olympic hockey on Tv. Lots of eating options in the area. Back to the Barton, I will say that the rooms are huge, decorated for the period and if you have a riverview room-the view is wonderful. Overlooks the niagara river. I was disappointed to find out that although advertised as being the "grounds" of an historic mansion with an amazing history, the hotel itself is only 8 years old and already in need of some repairs, the "Mansion" is up the hill on the same road and is not accessible as it is a private home. This took away from the experience for me as I am interested in military history of the area. This is not a chain hotel so don't expect cookie cutter rooms and amenities. Some rooms have lumber floors, some carpeted but all are huge and comfortable. We did find that the walls are very thin and we could hear conversations and tV from the room above us and requested a move to the fourth floor which was cheerfully and Quickly accommodated. Definitely request the fourth floor here because for all the effort to make this hotel look and feel authentic and old, you would expect a better effort in keeping the rooms sound insulated? Overall I would recommend this hotel for its value and location and service which was exceptional! A young man named Alex manned the front Desk during our visit and he is an excellent ambassador for the hotel and area, very knowledgeable and went literally out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable! He knows the area and will help you find everything you need! Over all we enjoyed our stay at the Barton and rate it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

2 night stay arriving Feb. 15, 2014. Hotel very nice. Beautiful and comforting lobby. Room equally as comforting. Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfasts and Dinners in the hotel came with fantastic food, choices and service. All round excellent stay. Will return. James. Hamilton, Ontario

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great little boutique hotel in close vicinity to the shops and restaurants in the pretty town of Lewiston. We loved getting the free upgrade to a riverview room. Each room has a unique name and ours had a four post bed and a fireplace inside.

The hotel is a perfect place for a little shopping getaway, to hold a small wedding, or even a weekend with friends.

The small breakfast with the booking was great...simple but delicious....bacon wrapped eggs, scones, coffee and juice.

Great rates in the winter when its not so busy in Lewiston, but cozy and comfy for those winter months. We'll definitely be back and even pay a little extra to check it out in warmer months!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the weekend of February 1 st. The stay was about our 5th time and we have never been disappointed. All the staff are very friendly and always helpful to meeting any of your needs. The room this time, as before was very clean, spacious and inviting. We had a very relaxing dinner in their 2nd floor dining room. The service was excellent and food great. As in the past, the owner, Dianne came around and talked to each person answering any questions you might have about her resort and the surrounding area.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

Janet and Trevor
Stouffville, Ontario

Room Tip: Try and book a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Barton Hill in first week of Feb. The lobby when you first walk in is very welcoming - large fireplace, vintage furnishings and wide plank flooring. We were upgraged to a king room with a riverview. Again the room had vintage furnishings, electric fireplace and nice view of the river. Diana the proprietor introduced herself and was very welcoming and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We look forward to returning sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here in February of 2013 and it was great. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the fireplace in the room, the view and the spa. The continental breakfast was lacking in the morning so we stopped for coffee elsewhere, but it was slow so I would imagine they beef up the breakfast in the busier months. The location is walk-able but in the snow and cold we opted to drive into the village for shopping and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.