We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good... the bad... the NOISY...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“The good... the bad... the NOISY...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I decided to purchase a GROUPON for her Birthday and stay (2) nights at the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa. On the surface and outside it seems like a nice enough place, located down NEAR the water in Lewiston. We checked in on the Friday night after a long day of shopping and the young man working was very friendly and helpful. We got to our room up on the 4th floor and it was quite cool, we figured out how to use their remote control to bring up heat from the geo-thermal system, but it was well into the night before the room ever got up to 80. Shortly after entering we could hear noise in our room, well that was simply the TV in the next room, the falls REALLY are that paper thin! I was disappointed, but able to tune it out, until about 6am when the Hee Haw Gang started yacking, laughing, goofing around, etc. This pretty much meant I was up and awake from 6am onward. The next night we awoke to people having àdult releations` in the room next to us. I get it if we were at the Budget Inn or something, but we were paying over $150 per night ``to enjoy life as it is meant to be lived`` or so their quote at the hotel goes. The dinner is MAYBE good, but unfortunately we didn`t enjoy it, or use our $25 coupon since the hours are 6pm-8pm only? Didn't check out the "spa", but essentially they are just treatment rooms, rather than an actual area. The breakfast that was included was decent enough, nothing overly fancy - just enough to give you a quick bite before you head out for the day. The place does need a lot of cosmetic repairs throughout the halls and rooms we visited. Unfortunately we won't ever return, but good for other's to know how well things go there and what to expect... I think there are likely better choices out there for the price. Beds were comfortable and room was clean on the upside of things.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 4th floor room if you want to see the River, as it is a block away otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    181
    84
    78
    31
See reviews for
100
379
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! Large, gorgeous room with fireplace & a view of the river & Canada! We slept really well in the large, comfortable bed! We enjoyed the meals that were included in our package. There was a nice selection of entrees to choose for dinner & breakfast was amazing! A buffet consisting of ham wrapped eggs with cheese, scones, pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee & OJ were all excellent!

We would prefer to not have to ask for ice but it is available on request. If a casino voucher is part of your package, get the voucher when you check-in as we almost forgot it when we checked out! :(

The village of Lewiston has quite a bit of history & we are delighted to have spent Remembrance Day & night at the Barton Hill Hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was cozy and beautiful. There was a little fake fireplace and a huge bed and a few of the Niagara River. The best part was that we could easily walk to downtown Lewiston which had a bunch of great bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was good, the staff were great, but the rooms are noisy, like you are staying at a friends house and you can hear them every time they go to the bathroom or walk on the floor above you. And the fireplaces are just electric, a bit of a let down. I would stay there again, but would make sure my ear plugs are in.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Barton Hill is a beautiful hotel with lovely views. We were received by a really nice man at the reception and the service was excellent. The hotel room was well appointed and the bed was huge! The waitstaff were very friendly but dinner was mediocre. I thought it was very salty; my lips were almost burning, but I did notice that a lot of food I had in my trip was saltly - perhaps this is normal for the area. And the portions were HUGE, i couldn't finish even a quarter of my place. But breakfast was a nice surprise, the selection wasn't plentiful but everything that was displayed was delicious.

I would go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We had a river view room [upgraded by the desk because it was our anniversary] which was very nicely appointed and quite large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower and good toiletries. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and accomodating. The complimentary breakfast was great. Excellent juice and fresh baked goods warm from the oven. That morning there were also baked eggs wrapped in bacon. Every staff member we encountered was helpful friendly. We had no complaints and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had my wedding at the Barton Hill in October 2012. We were a little nervous given some of the reviews however the night went off beautifully. It ended up raining and we had to move our cocktail hour inside but the Barton Hill moved quickly and it truly was a stunning evening. The food was amazing, the service was stellar and it we were told byall of our guests that it was the best wedding that they have attended. We look forward to spending many romantic weekends there in the future and highly recommend others do the same! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.