We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! Large, gorgeous room with fireplace & a view of the river & Canada! We slept really well in the large, comfortable bed! We enjoyed the meals that were included in our package. There was a nice selection of entrees to choose for dinner & breakfast was amazing! A buffet consisting of ham wrapped eggs with cheese, scones, pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee & OJ were all excellent!

We would prefer to not have to ask for ice but it is available on request. If a casino voucher is part of your package, get the voucher when you check-in as we almost forgot it when we checked out! :(

The village of Lewiston has quite a bit of history & we are delighted to have spent Remembrance Day & night at the Barton Hill Hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    166
    76
    74
    30
See reviews for
94
350
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was cozy and beautiful. There was a little fake fireplace and a huge bed and a few of the Niagara River. The best part was that we could easily walk to downtown Lewiston which had a bunch of great bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was good, the staff were great, but the rooms are noisy, like you are staying at a friends house and you can hear them every time they go to the bathroom or walk on the floor above you. And the fireplaces are just electric, a bit of a let down. I would stay there again, but would make sure my ear plugs are in.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Barton Hill is a beautiful hotel with lovely views. We were received by a really nice man at the reception and the service was excellent. The hotel room was well appointed and the bed was huge! The waitstaff were very friendly but dinner was mediocre. I thought it was very salty; my lips were almost burning, but I did notice that a lot of food I had in my trip was saltly - perhaps this is normal for the area. And the portions were HUGE, i couldn't finish even a quarter of my place. But breakfast was a nice surprise, the selection wasn't plentiful but everything that was displayed was delicious.

I would go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We had a river view room [upgraded by the desk because it was our anniversary] which was very nicely appointed and quite large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower and good toiletries. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and accomodating. The complimentary breakfast was great. Excellent juice and fresh baked goods warm from the oven. That morning there were also baked eggs wrapped in bacon. Every staff member we encountered was helpful friendly. We had no complaints and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had my wedding at the Barton Hill in October 2012. We were a little nervous given some of the reviews however the night went off beautifully. It ended up raining and we had to move our cocktail hour inside but the Barton Hill moved quickly and it truly was a stunning evening. The food was amazing, the service was stellar and it we were told byall of our guests that it was the best wedding that they have attended. We look forward to spending many romantic weekends there in the future and highly recommend others do the same! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the first time I stayed and it was just amazing! The old schol look and feel of the hotel was just incredible. The staff were very friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The little touches made it special, the fact that the rooms had a fireplace, the alarm clock had nature sounds and an ipod dock, and the breakfast was not just a watered down coffee and muffin there was fruit, bacon wrapped eggs and a lot of other options.
It was also walking distance from the shops and restaraunts in the area. I will definately be going back.
Derik B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.