We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
“Nice, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was good, the staff were great, but the rooms are noisy, like you are staying at a friends house and you can hear them every time they go to the bathroom or walk on the floor above you. And the fireplaces are just electric, a bit of a let down. I would stay there again, but would make sure my ear plugs are in.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    183
    84
    78
    32
See reviews for
103
379
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Barton Hill is a beautiful hotel with lovely views. We were received by a really nice man at the reception and the service was excellent. The hotel room was well appointed and the bed was huge! The waitstaff were very friendly but dinner was mediocre. I thought it was very salty; my lips were almost burning, but I did notice that a lot of food I had in my trip was saltly - perhaps this is normal for the area. And the portions were HUGE, i couldn't finish even a quarter of my place. But breakfast was a nice surprise, the selection wasn't plentiful but everything that was displayed was delicious.

I would go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We had a river view room [upgraded by the desk because it was our anniversary] which was very nicely appointed and quite large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower and good toiletries. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and accomodating. The complimentary breakfast was great. Excellent juice and fresh baked goods warm from the oven. That morning there were also baked eggs wrapped in bacon. Every staff member we encountered was helpful friendly. We had no complaints and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had my wedding at the Barton Hill in October 2012. We were a little nervous given some of the reviews however the night went off beautifully. It ended up raining and we had to move our cocktail hour inside but the Barton Hill moved quickly and it truly was a stunning evening. The food was amazing, the service was stellar and it we were told byall of our guests that it was the best wedding that they have attended. We look forward to spending many romantic weekends there in the future and highly recommend others do the same! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the first time I stayed and it was just amazing! The old schol look and feel of the hotel was just incredible. The staff were very friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The little touches made it special, the fact that the rooms had a fireplace, the alarm clock had nature sounds and an ipod dock, and the breakfast was not just a watered down coffee and muffin there was fruit, bacon wrapped eggs and a lot of other options.
It was also walking distance from the shops and restaraunts in the area. I will definately be going back.
Derik B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was my second visit and I didn't think it could of been any better then the first, but it did. This hotel and staff do not disappoint. The location is perfect, close to shopping and downtown, The breakfast was very good, not your typical muffin and bottle of O.J.. I am already looking forward to my next stay there. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: I clicked pool and fitness centre. The hotel does not have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me start by saying this was the first time we had stay at the Barton Hill even though we live in the area. Our son's wedding reception was held there and as it turned out if was one of the most enjoyable experience we have ever had.
The staff was amazing. They eagerly address every issue that came up (as they always do) and made the reception problem free. The food was amazing for the 150 guest and no one had any complaints. The rooms are spacious and well kept and we all felt very comfortable in the old world styling of the decor. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed, two large comfortable chairs, large spacious bath room with a shower that could hold ten, and a flat screen TV, fireplace and quiet air unit. Sure I could find fault if I looked for it, but isn't that true for anyplace.
We had a room with a view of the river which was so enjoyable to view on the early fall morning. The continental breakfast was also superb with both warm and cold entries that we shared with the other wedding guest while reminiscing about the previous night festivities.
Many thanks to the Barton Hill staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.