We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Port Colborne, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We had a river view room [upgraded by the desk because it was our anniversary] which was very nicely appointed and quite large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower and good toiletries. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and accomodating. The complimentary breakfast was great. Excellent juice and fresh baked goods warm from the oven. That morning there were also baked eggs wrapped in bacon. Every staff member we encountered was helpful friendly. We had no complaints and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    171
    78
    76
    30
See reviews for
96
360
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had my wedding at the Barton Hill in October 2012. We were a little nervous given some of the reviews however the night went off beautifully. It ended up raining and we had to move our cocktail hour inside but the Barton Hill moved quickly and it truly was a stunning evening. The food was amazing, the service was stellar and it we were told byall of our guests that it was the best wedding that they have attended. We look forward to spending many romantic weekends there in the future and highly recommend others do the same! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the first time I stayed and it was just amazing! The old schol look and feel of the hotel was just incredible. The staff were very friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The little touches made it special, the fact that the rooms had a fireplace, the alarm clock had nature sounds and an ipod dock, and the breakfast was not just a watered down coffee and muffin there was fruit, bacon wrapped eggs and a lot of other options.
It was also walking distance from the shops and restaraunts in the area. I will definately be going back.
Derik B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was my second visit and I didn't think it could of been any better then the first, but it did. This hotel and staff do not disappoint. The location is perfect, close to shopping and downtown, The breakfast was very good, not your typical muffin and bottle of O.J.. I am already looking forward to my next stay there. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: I clicked pool and fitness centre. The hotel does not have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me start by saying this was the first time we had stay at the Barton Hill even though we live in the area. Our son's wedding reception was held there and as it turned out if was one of the most enjoyable experience we have ever had.
The staff was amazing. They eagerly address every issue that came up (as they always do) and made the reception problem free. The food was amazing for the 150 guest and no one had any complaints. The rooms are spacious and well kept and we all felt very comfortable in the old world styling of the decor. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed, two large comfortable chairs, large spacious bath room with a shower that could hold ten, and a flat screen TV, fireplace and quiet air unit. Sure I could find fault if I looked for it, but isn't that true for anyplace.
We had a room with a view of the river which was so enjoyable to view on the early fall morning. The continental breakfast was also superb with both warm and cold entries that we shared with the other wedding guest while reminiscing about the previous night festivities.
Many thanks to the Barton Hill staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After reading a lot of reviews and purchasing a groupon, my husband and I tried this hotel during part of our summer vacation to Niagara Falls and Toronto. Let me start by saying that this hotel is a decent place to stay and has charm with a good view of the Niagara river. It's not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but it's definitely not the worst either. If you need to stay in the Lewiston area, it's a solid choice. However, I do have some reservations about returning and thought I should list a few of them.

- We stayed on the 4th floor to help minimize the noise that some of the previous reviews mentioned. The only problem with that was the walls are so thin and there's way too much space under the doors, so you can hear everything on your floor.

- For the hotel to be recently built (I think in 2005/2006?) there were tons of issues with the finishings and furnishings. For example, gaps in the crown molding that weren't caulked, shoddy plaster work and repair work on the ceilings, the four-poster bed railings weren't assembled properly, damaged door frames that weren't replaced. This may sound trivial, but when there's so many things that were done improperly its hard to overlook them all.

- The young staff - they're actually a complement to the hotel. Each one I interacted with seemed very courteous and responsible. One even went the extra mile to make me happy after some things couldn't be taken care of immediately. Whoever is training them is doing a great job. The only thing that could make them better is experience - which they'll get if they continue working there.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again mostly because the Lewiston area is a great one-time thing. If you need a solid place to sleep, this is acceptable, but should not be touted as luxury. This place definitely has the potential to be really great, but just needs a little TLC (or a really good hotelier). If the points I listed above don't bother you, you'll love the property and should go for it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was a quaint hotel in a nice location in Lewiston the building is very historic. We had a groupon which we used so that was nice. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff very helpful.
We were able to walk to town and visit shops. There are many restaurants in the area. It also very close to several winery's so we did some wine tastings.

Room Tip: The riverview room is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.